Swimming Pool Operator Certification

 
1
 
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

Every Class A (municipality type) pool shall be under the immediate supervision of a Nebraska swimming pool operator who shall be held responsible for compliance with all provisions of the regulations relating to equipment, pool operation and maintenance, and safely of bathers.

Every Class B (motel, hotel, apartment type) pool and Class F (fitness facility type) pool must have a Nebraska swimming pool operator available within 60 minutes of the facility.

The certified operator must supervise the operation of the water treatment facilities to ensure safe water, both from a physical and bacterial standpoint. Daily records of the pool operation including attendance, chemicals used, disinfectant residuals, pH, equipment maintenance, and accidents must be maintained.

Outside of Lancaster County, there is no longer a classroom session for swimming pool operator certification. The training and exam are all online. See the steps for certification under Certification & Renewal, below. Anyone in Nebraska may take the class held at the Lincoln Lancaster County Health Department.

Certification & Renewal

Outside Lancaster County:

  1. Complete the certification exam application to register for the exam. 
    • You must enter your own e-mail address, not a shared address. Exam access is granted via e-mail.
    • On the application, enter "Online" in the space for test location.
  2. Mail the completed application and $40 fee to the Licensure Unit (address is below).
  3. Once the application and fee have been processed, you will receive an e-mail with instructions to access the online exam, along with an online video and study materials.
  4. Read the study materials, watch the video, and take the exam within 10 days of receipt of the e-mail. 
  5. Exam results are sent to the DHHS Licensure Unit. They will review your results and either issue or deny you a certificate based on whether you passed or failed the exam. A passing score is 70% or higher.
  6. If you are issued a pool operator certificate, you can print it from the License Lookup site here (click your name when it comes up in the search results).

The online exam is available for both initial and renewal certification. If you are currently certified as a pool operator by DHHS, you can take the online exam within 90 days of your certificate's expiration date. You can look up your certificate information ; only enter your last name and choose Swimming Pool Operator from the professions list.

Swimming Pool Operator certificates expire two years from the date they are issued. A certificate can be renewed 90 days before the expiration date. To renew, follow the steps above to take the exam, and pay the $40 fee.

In Lancaster County:

If you will be the operator for a swimming pool within Lancaster County, you must take the class offered at the Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department (LLCHD). Anyone in Nebraska may take this class to be certified as a swimming pool operator instead of taking the online examination; pool operator candidates who will work in Lancaster County are required to attend the class. The fee for the class is $60.

Click here for the class schedule.
 

  

 For more information on swimming pools (not operator certifications) in Nebraska, please see the regulations and statutes or contact the Swimming Pool Program. Phone (402) 471-0903  E-mail DHHS.PoolClinic@nebraska.gov.


 

Office of Rehabilitation & Community Services
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2299
Fax Number
(402) 742-1152
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit
ATTN: Pool Operator Certification
PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE  68509-4986


 

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South

14th & M Streets, 1st Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.