

Application Information Nail Technology Instructor by RECIPROCITY

Licensed in Another State

Information for Military Spouses:

Temporary License: If you have an active Nail Technology Instructor license in another state and you are a military spouse, you may be issued a temporary license pending completion of the permanent license requirements. A temporary license specifically for military spouses is available under Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-129.01 and is issued for a period not to exceed 1-year. Please review the following documents required to obtain a temporary license and those listed for a permanent license to determine which process is right for you.

To apply for this temporary license, you need to be a resident of Nebraska and submit the following:

- The attached application
- A copy of your military dependent identification card identifying you as the spouse of an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces
- A copy of your spouse's military orders reflecting an active-duty assignment in Nebraska
- A copy of your Nail Technology Instructor license from another state or jurisdiction
- A copy of the statutes, rules, and regulations governing your license which indicate standards that are similar to Nebraska's Nail Technology Instructor licensing requirements.
- \$25 temporary license fee and Permanent license fee (unless you qualify for a fee waiver).

Permanent Nail Technology Instructor License in Nebraska - Requirements and Process:

- 1. You must be at least 17 years old and Lawfully Present in the United States.
- 2. You must be licensed as an instructor in another state/jurisdiction. Your license must have been based on an examination; however, if an examination was not required, then you must take the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) instructor examination.
- 3. Hold a current Nebraska Nail Technology license.
- 4. You must have completed at least 300 hours of nail technology instructor. If you did not complete a 300 hour training program, 100 hours counts for each month of full-time practice as a nail technology instructor within the 5 years immediately prior to this application towards training.

<u>LICENSE FEE WAIVER:</u> Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license <u>is</u> waived:

- 1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 17 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- 2. <u>Low-Income Individual:</u> You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program **such as** the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, <u>OR</u> your household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
 - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
 - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a
 document showing current enrollment.
 - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.
- 3. <u>Military Family:</u> You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

<u>MILITARY:</u> To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

To apply for a License:

STEP 1:	Get copies of the following documents:	

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language. You must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents. US Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 17 years old): U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: \square Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted). ☐ U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired). ☐ Certificate of Naturalization. Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship. A Driver's License is NOT acceptable. NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or ☐ Employment Authorization Card **AND** ☐ An approved deferred action status (DACA); ☐ A pending application for asylum in the United States: ☐ A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or ☐ A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States. NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security. This process may take up to 30 days. Other State License Information: You must contact the states in which you are licensed or have held a license and request the State Office to complete Attachment 1 or a similar document. (DO NOT send a copy of your license). **Education:** a **PHOTOCOPY** of: ☐ Your Nail Technology Instructor's school diploma. Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review. Conviction Information: If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor/felony convictions.

If you have convictions, you must submit:

- (i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;
- (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and
- (iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), the treatment provider must submit all evaluations/discharge summaries directly to the Department.

The following provides **SOME** examples of convictions; this is **NOT** a complete list

- MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor
- DUI / DWI / Open Container
- Controlled Substance
- Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
- Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
- Disturbing the Peace
- Assault / Prostitution
- Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
- Fail to Appear in Court

- Driving under Suspension / Revocation
- License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
- False Information or Reporting
- Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident
- Operator not Carrying License
- Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
- Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
- Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
- Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have <u>any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction</u> or license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by phone 402-471-0175.

STEP 2: Complete all Sections of the Application STEP 3: Get a Certification from the State where you currently hold a license- Attachment 1 STEP 4: Submit your application to the Licensure Unit Completed Application Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document Education Documents Conviction Records (if you have convictions) License Certifications (for each state that you hold a license) The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver). See the license application for a listing of fees for Cosmetologists and Estheticians. Pay by check/money order (your cancelled check is your proof of receipt); debit or credit card is not accepted.

Application Review: All applications are reviewed in date order received.

- If your application <u>is missing information</u>, you will be contacted **by e-mail** within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be required.
- If your application <u>is complete</u>, you will receive by e-mail your license #.

Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.



DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Licensure Unit

LICENSE FEES:

Check only one waiver:

☐ <u>Low-income Individual:</u>

P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

A. Fee Waiver: If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license fee is waived.

☐ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the

Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR

My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.

medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition

Mail this application to the address listed above.

☐ Young Worker: I am under 26 years old.

You must complete all sections of this application

RECIPROCITY

Nail Technology Instructor Application

(Licensed in another State)

☐ Military Family: I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.													
ch iss Pa	Fee Required if art below. Revieued y by check or mour cancelled check	w the ch	arts to de	termine t	the fee re Jnit	equired ba	ised on tl	ne month	and year	r in which	your lice	ense will	be
	VEAD	la	Ec.b.	M	Λ	Mari	li	1,.1	A	Co	0-4	Mari	Doo
E\#	YEAR en Number Year	Jan \$50	Feb \$50	Mar \$50	Apr \$50	May \$50	June \$50	July \$50	Aug \$50	Sep \$50	Oct \$50	Nov \$50	Dec \$50
	d Number rear	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25
1	You must print you First:				ddle:				La	ıst Name	:		
	First: Middle: Last Name: List any other names, you are or have ever been known as (AKA),												
2	including maiden name and your last name on your birth certificate 2 Address: Street/PO/Route:												
		City:					State	e or Cour	ntry:		Zip):	
3	3 Social Security Number (SSN): Nebraska Nail Technology License #												
pul	b. <u>Rev</u> . <u>Stat</u> . §§38- blic information, Dh d provide it to the D	HHS may Departme	share your	ur social enue or	security	number fo	or child s						
4	If you ARE NOT a your Alien Regist				A#: 🗆	I-94 #							

5	Date of Birth (Month/Day/Ye		Place of Birth (City/State or COUNTRY):						
6	Phone #: (optional)*	#: (optional)*			Additional Phone #: (optional)*				
	E-Mail Address:								
* pl	hone number and e-mail is op	ptional, but pro	oviding this in	formation w	ill speed up co	ommunication with	you		
7	Have you ever been denied take a license examination State?	Yes 🗆	No ☐ If yes, explain:						
8	Military Spouse: Are your of an active duty member o States Armed Forces who hactive-duty assignment in ir		Yes □ No □ If checked yes and you are applying for a temporary license, you must include all documentation identified in the instructions.						
Fai	CTION B: CONVICTION llure to list any conviction(s) conviction.				hen the actior	n occurred, could re	esult in disciplinary		
<u>co</u>	NVICTION INFORMATION:	You must lis	t ALL misder	meanor or fe	lony convictio	ons (regardless of v	when they occurred).		
1	Have you <u>EVER</u> been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	of a				Date of Action	Name of Court Takin Action		
	Yes □ No □								
	The follow	ing provides	SOME exam	nles of con	victions: this	is NOT a complet	te list		
	MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mir		OOME OXUM	ME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list • Driving under Suspension / Revocation					
	• DUI / DWI	License Vehicle without Liability Insurance							
	Controlled SubstanceOpen Container		Fail to Appear in CourtFalse Information or Reporting						
	Shoplifting / Theft / Burgla		• Leave	the Scene of	f an Accident				
	Unauthorized use of a FirDisturbing the Peace	nancial Transa	action	Opera Unlow	ho				
	Disturbing the PeaceAssault / Prostitution					Plates/Renewal ta / Curfew Violation	uo		
	Disorderly Conduct / Disc		Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal						
	Reckless Driving			Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check					

<u>LICENSE INFORMATION:</u> The following questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held (such as nursing, nail technology, massage, etc.) in a state <u>other</u> than Nebraska.

4							
Do you hold or have you held a license in any other state(s)?			If yes, what state(s)?		What type of I	icense?	
	Yes □ No □						
	100 2 110 2						
	If YES, has your license ever be refused renewal, limited, suspense	Type of Action	on	Date of Action	Name of State Taking Action		
	revoked or had other disciplina						
	taken against it?						
	Yes □ No □						
SF	CTION C: EDUCATION						
	Name of Nail Technology School	l:					
	City and State where the school located:	is					
	ormation Relating to Military Ed	lucation. Train	ing, or Servic	e:			
If yo	ou have completed education, tra	ining, or servic	e that you beli	eve <u>is sub</u>	stantially simila	r to the education	or training required
	his credential while you were a r state, the military reserves of ar						
	eview.	y otato, or the r	iavai iiiiitia oi	dily olato	, you may outin	THE GOOT OVIGOTION V	viiii your application
SE	CTION D: INSTRUCTOR EX	PERIENCE					
If vo	our nail technology instructor p	rograms is les	s than 300 ho	ours, com	plete the follow	ing:	
						-	
List	below the Name of the School, I					-	hat you worked within
List the	Last 5 Years Prior to sending t	his Application:		and Date	s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t	·
List the					s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t	Date Ended
List the	Last 5 Years Prior to sending t	his Application:		and Date	s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t	·
List the	Last 5 Years Prior to sending t	his Application:		and Date	s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t	Date Ended
List the	Last 5 Years Prior to sending t	his Application:		and Date	s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t	Date Ended
List the	Last 5 Years Prior to sending t	his Application:		and Date	s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t	Date Ended
List the	Last 5 Years Prior to sending t	his Application:		and Date	s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t	Date Ended
List the Nar	Last 5 Years Prior to sending to me of School	his Application:	State	and Date	s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t	Date Ended
List the Nar	Last 5 Years Prior to sending to me of School CTION E: PRACTICE PRIOF	City R TO LICENSI	State	and Date	s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
List the Nar	Last 5 Years Prior to sending to me of School	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Insti	State Eructor's license	Telepho	s of Full Time I	nstructor Practice t Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
List the Nar SE(If you of \$	Last 5 Years Prior to sending to me of School CTION E: PRACTICE PRIOF ou practice in Nebraska without a 10 per day up to \$1,000, or other	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instir	State Eructor's license ided in the sta	Telepho	s of Full Time I	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
SEC If you of \$	CTION E: PRACTICE PRIOF ou practice in Nebraska without a 10 per day up to \$1,000, or other e you practiced as a nail technology.	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instir	State Eructor's license ided in the sta	Telepho	s of Full Time I	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
SEC If you of \$	Last 5 Years Prior to sending to me of School CTION E: PRACTICE PRIOF ou practice in Nebraska without a 10 per day up to \$1,000, or other	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instir	State Eructor's license ided in the sta	Telepho	s of Full Time I	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
SEC If your of \$	ETION E: PRACTICE PRIOR To per day up to \$1,000, or othe The you practiced as a nail technology The you practiced as a nail	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instr r action as prov	Eructor's license ided in the sta	Telepho	s of Full Time In one # subject to asseregulations.	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
SEC If your If yee in No.	ETION E: PRACTICE PRIOR To per day up to \$1,000, or othe The you practiced as a nail technology The you practiced as a nail	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instrraction as provogy instructor indays you practuse and what is	Eructor's license ided in the stan Nebraska with	Telepho	s of Full Time In one # subject to asseregulations.	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
SEC If you of \$	ETION E: PRACTICE PRIOF ou practice in Nebraska without a 10 per day up to \$1,000, or othe e you practiced as a nail technolo No Yes s, what are the actual number of ebraska without a Nebraska licer ness name, location and telepho	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instrraction as provogy instructor indays you practuse and what is	Eructor's license ided in the stan Nebraska with liced the ne	Telepho	s of Full Time I	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
SEC If you of \$	ETION E: PRACTICE PRIOR To per day up to \$1,000, or othe The you practiced as a nail technology The you practiced as a nail	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instrraction as provogy instructor indays you practuse and what is	Eructor's license ided in the stan Nebraska with liced the ne	Telepho	s of Full Time I	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
SEC If you of \$	ETION E: PRACTICE PRIOF ou practice in Nebraska without a 10 per day up to \$1,000, or othe e you practiced as a nail technolo No Yes s, what are the actual number of ebraska without a Nebraska licer ness name, location and telepho	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instrraction as provogy instructor indays you practuse and what is	Eructor's license ided in the stan Nebraska withiced the ne Name	Telepho	s of Full Time I	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
SEC If you of \$	ETION E: PRACTICE PRIOF ou practice in Nebraska without a 10 per day up to \$1,000, or othe e you practiced as a nail technolo No Yes s, what are the actual number of ebraska without a Nebraska licer ness name, location and telepho	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instrraction as provogy instructor indays you practuse and what is	Eructor's license ided in the stan Nebraska with liced the ne	Telepho	s of Full Time I	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year
SEC If you of \$	ETION E: PRACTICE PRIOF ou practice in Nebraska without a 10 per day up to \$1,000, or othe e you practiced as a nail technolo No Yes s, what are the actual number of ebraska without a Nebraska licer ness name, location and telepho	City R TO LICENSI Nebraska Instrraction as provogy instructor indays you practuse and what is	Eructor's license ided in the stan Nebraska withiced the ne Name	e, you are tutes and hout a Ne	s of Full Time I	Date Began Month/Day/Year	Date Ended Month/Day/Year

SECTION F: ATTESTATION
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): I attest that:
☐ I am a citizen of the United States.
☐ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the federal Immigration and Nationality Act, or a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 document, asylum, etc.
☐ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.
☐ I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act
I further attest that:
 I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and I am of good character and all statements on this application are true and complete.
Print Name:
Signature: Date:

 $\label{eq:military} \textbf{MILITARY:} \ \ \text{To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at $$ $\frac{https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx}$$



DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Licensure Unit, P.O. Box 94986 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Telephone: 402-471-2399 Fax: 402-742-1106

E-mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

This form must be completed by the State Licensing Board in all States that you are licensed

NAIL TECHNOLOGY INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION OF LICENSE

Print or Type

LIC	CENSE INFORMAT	10	N				
1	Name of Licensee:						
2	License #:						
3	License Type:						
4	Date Issued:						
5	Date Expires:						
6	Disciplinary Action:		Yes ☐ No YES, provide copies of the	Disciplinary Action			
7	Examination Score:						
8	Date of Examination:						
NA	IL TECHNOLOGY	IN	STRUCTOR EDUCATIO	N			
	me of School:						
	dress //State/Zip:						
Gra	aduation Date:						
Tot	al Hours Earned:						
ST	ATE AGENCY INF	OR	MATION				
1	Name of State:						
2	Address:						
		(City	State		Zip Code	
3	OPTIONAL Telephone Number:						
4	Name and Title of Person Completing Form	١	Name		Title		
<u></u>							
SIG	gnature						
Da							STATE SEAL
Da	ıc						