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_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
LICENSE FEE WAIVER:  Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license and 
temporary license fee is waived: 
   
1.  Young Worker:   You are between the ages of 18 and 25 (under the age of 26).   
 
2. Low-Income Individual:  You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance 

program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or 
the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your household adjusted gross income is below 130% 
of the federal income poverty guideline.   
• If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to 

be submitted. 
• If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a 

document showing current enrollment. 
• If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see 

the current income guidelines, http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf.  To be eligible for this 
waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return. 

 
3. Military Family:  You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably 

discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried 
surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.  To be eligible for this waiver, you must 
submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described 
above.   

 

 
 
INFORMATION FOR MILITARY SPOUSES  
 
Temporary License:  If you have an active massage therapy license in another state and you are a military spouse, you may be issued 
a temporary license pending completion of the permanent license requirements. A temporary license specifically for military spouses is 
available under Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-129.01 and is issued for a period not to exceed 1-year. Please review the following documents 
required to obtain a temporary license and those listed for a permanent license to determine which process is right for you.  
 
To apply for this temporary license, you need to be a resident of Nebraska and submit the following: 

• The attached application 
• A copy of your military dependent identification card identifying you as the spouse of an active duty member of the United States 

Armed Forces  
• A copy of your spouse’s military orders reflecting an active-duty assignment in Nebraska  
• A copy of your massage therapy license from another state or jurisdiction  
• A copy of the statutes, rules, and regulations governing your license which indicate standards that are similar to Nebraska’s 

massage therapy licensing requirements.  
• $25 temporary license fee and the permanent license fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver). 

 
 
MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx  
 

 
 
  

http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf
http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
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PERMANENT MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSE IN NEBRASKA - REQUIREMENTS AND PROCESS 
 
 

 

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS.  Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language.  You 
must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document.  The translation must be an original document and contain the 
notarized or equivalent signature of the translator.  An individual may not translate his/her own documents. 
 
1.   US Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 19 years old):   

 

U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:  
  Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted). 
  U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired). 
  Certificate of Naturalization. 
  Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship. 
 

 A Driver’s License is NOT acceptable. 
 

NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: 
  Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card;  
  Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or 
  Employment Authorization Card AND 
  An approved deferred action status (DACA); 
  A pending application for asylum in the United States; 
  A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or 
  A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent 
      Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States. 

NOTE:  Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland 
Security. This process may take up to 30 days. 
 
 

2.   Education:  Request that your massage therapy school submit an official school/college/university transcript showing 
completion of a course of study and training in massage therapy not less than 1,000 hours, distributed over a term of not less than 9 
months  

  
Reciprocity:  If you are licensed in another state and you have not completed at least 1,000 hours of training in massage therapy, you 
may obtain hours to equal the required 1,000 hours of training through a massage therapy program, a college/university, work 
experience and/or continuing education.  Hour equivalents may be granted in the following manner:  
 

• 50-60 minutes equals 1 hour obtained from a course of study in massage therapy; 
• 1 semester credit hour of massage therapy related college/university hours equals 15 hours; 
• 100 hours for each year of full-time practice as a massage therapist; and/or 
• Up to 100 hours obtained from NCBTMB or FSMTB approved continuing education programs. 

 
Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: 
If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for 
this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, 
the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.   

 
 
3.    Examination:  You must submit an Official Examination Score Report from NCTMB or FSMTB. 

 

Reciprocity:   If you are licensed in another state you must also successfully complete the jurisprudence examination, with a score of 
at least 75%.  Exam can be found at: https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/story.php?title=mjuzmda1oq9s2f     When you are finished 
taking this examination, you will need to print it and mail with application. 

 
 
4.   Other State License Information:  If you hold or have held a health related license in any state (other than Nebraska), 

you must contact that state and request a verification of your license (do not send a copy of your license).  

STEP 1:  Get copies of the following documents: 

https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/story.php?title=mjuzmda1oq9s2f
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5.      Conviction Information:  If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court 

system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction.  Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or 
felonies.  You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list 
infractions, diversions or dismissals.  Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, 
so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor/felony 
convictions.    

 If you have convictions, you must submit:  
(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final 
disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;  
(ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has 
taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and  
(iii) A letter from the applicant’s probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently 
on probation. 
 
If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any 
drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations and discharge 
summaries directly to the Department.  
 

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list 
 

 

• MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor 
• DUI / DWI / Open Container 
• Controlled Substance 
• Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary 
• Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction 
• Disturbing the Peace  
• Assault / Prostitution 
• Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House 
• Fail to Appear in Court 

• Driving under Suspension / Revocation  
• License Vehicle without Liability Insurance  
• False Information or Reporting 
• Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident 
• Operator not Carrying License 
• Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs  
• Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation 
• Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal 
• Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check 

 
 

 
NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license 
discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action.  
Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx   or by phone 402-471-0175. 

 
 

 

Temp License:  If you plan to apply for a temporary license while you are waiting to take the national examination or meet the  
requirements for a permanent license (does not apply to military spouse) you must submit the license application, have your supervisor(s)  
complete page 6 of the application and you must pay both fees (temporary and license fee) unless you qualified for a fee waiver. 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Contact Information:  Licensure Unit, 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986  
Telephone: 402-471-2117 / FAX:  402-742-1106 / E-Mail: DHHS.licensure2117@nebraska.gov  

STEP 2:  Complete all Pages of the Application 

STEP 3:  Submit your application to the Licensure Unit 
 

 Completed Application 
 Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document 
 Education Documents 
 Conviction Records (if you have convictions) 

 

 License Certifications (if licensed in another state) 
  The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver).  See the license 
application for a listing of fees for massage therapists.  Pay by check/money 
order; debit or credit card is not accepted. 

Application Review:  All applications are reviewed in date order received.   
 

• If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list 
the information that is required to compete your application.   You have 90 days to complete your application; if not 
completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed.  A new application will then be 
required. 

• If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail that your license has been issued. 
 
Records Retention Schedule:  When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 
years; then all documents will be destroyed.  We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records. 
 

mailto:DHHS.licensure2117@nebraska.gov
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Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 
Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 

Mail this application to the address listed above.      You must complete all sections of this application 

LICENSE APPLICATION TYPE and FEES
Check all license types that apply: 
�  Initial License:  see chart below for appropriate fee 
�  Reciprocity - Licensed in Another State: see chart below for appropriate fee 
�  Temporary License – Fee: $25  
�  Military Temporary License – Fee $25 

A.  Fee Waiver:   
If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license and temporary license fee is waived.  Check only ONE waiver: 

□ Young Worker:   I am under 26 years old.

□ Low-income Individual:

□ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program
established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program; OR

□ My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.

□ Military Family:  I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably
discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried
surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.

B.  Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers: 
Review the following chart to determine the fee required based on the month and year in which your license will be issued: 

Pay by check or money order to:  Licensure Unit 
Your cancelled check is your proof of payment.  Payment is processed upon receipt.  Debit or credit card is not accepted. 

YEAR Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

Even Numbered Year $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 

Odd Numbered Year $110 $110 $110 $110 27.50 27.50 27.50 27.50 27.50 27.50 $110 $110 

SECTION A:  INFORMATION       
1 You must print your Legal Name below 

First: Middle: Last Name: 

List any other names, you are or have ever been known as 
(AKA), including maiden name and your last name on your 
birth certificate 

2 Address: Street/PO/Route: 

City: State or Country: Zip: 

3 Social Security Number (SSN): 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-123 and 38-130 requires you to provide your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is not
public information, DHHS may share your social security number for child support enforcement or other administrative purposes and 
provide it to the Department of Revenue or the Department of Labor. 

MASSAGE THERAPY 
Application  
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4 If you are not a U.S. Citizen, list 
your  A# or I-94#: 

Alien Registration Number (“A#”): 

I-94 # 

5 Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year): Place of Birth (City/State or COUNTRY): 

6 Phone #: (optional)* Additional Phone #: (optional)* 

E-Mail Address: 

* phone number and e-mail is optional, but providing this information will speed up communication with you

7 Have you ever been denied the right to take a license examination in any State? 

Yes  □   No   □    If yes, explain:
8 Military Spouse:  Are you the spouse of an active duty 

member of the United States Armed Forces who has an 
active-duty assignment in in Nebraska? 

Yes  □    No  □
If checked yes and you are applying for a temporary license, you 
must include all documentation identified in the instructions. 

SECTION B:  EXAMINATION 

RECIPROCITY:  An applicant who is licensed in another jurisdiction must also successfully pass the Board developed 
jurisprudence examination, with a score of at least 75%.     You will need to print this examination from the web site and mail 
with your application. The examination can be found at: https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-
school/story.php?title=mjuzmda1oq9s2f 

Examination:  All applicants must complete the following: 

� I have enclosed the official score report from NCTMB.

� I have enclosed the official score report from FSMTB.

� I have requested an official copy of my score report be sent to your office.

Acceptable License Examinations include: 

1. The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB), National Certification Examination
for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) or Advanced Certification Examination (ACE) developed by the National Certification Board for 
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB);   

OR 
2. The Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) developed by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards

(FSMTB).

SECTION C:  EDUCATION 
School of Massage Therapy 
Attended: 

Name: 

School Address: Street/PO/Route: 

City: State: Zip: 

Date Completed: Date: Total # of  Hours Completed: 

You must have your school or electronic transcript service submit the official college or university transcript directly to our office. 

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:  
If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this 
credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the 
military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review. 

https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/story.php?title=mjuzmda1oq9s2f
https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/story.php?title=mjuzmda1oq9s2f
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SECTION D:  RECIPROCITY  
IF YOU ARE LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE AND YOUR MASSAGE THERAPY PROGRAM WAS LESS THAN 1,000 HOURS, you 
may obtain hours to equal the required 1,000 hours of training through a massage therapy program, a college/university, work experience 
and/or continuing education.  Hour equivalents may be granted in the following manner:  

• 50-60 minutes equals 1 hour obtained from a course of study in massage therapy;
• 1 semester credit hour of massage therapy related college/university hours equals 15 hours;
• 100 hours for each year of full-time practice following licensure as a massage therapist; and/or
• Up to 100 hours obtained from NCBTMB or FSMTB approved continuing education programs.

□ MASSAGE THERAPY RELATED COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY HOURS:  If you are requesting college/university hours to be considered
towards the 1,000 hours of training in massage therapy, list below the Name of the college/university, Name of Course, Course Number, 
and Number of Credits earned: 

Name of College/University Course Name Course # Credits Earned 

□ FULL-TIME PRACTICE:  If you are requesting full-time practice be considered towards the 1,000 hours of training in massage
therapy, list below the Name of the Establishment, Telephone Number, and Dates of Full Time Practice as a massage therapist for each 
employment location: 

Name of Establishment City State Telephone # Date Began Date Ended 

□ CONTINUING EDUCATION:  If you are requesting continuing education be considered towards the 1,000 hours of training in
massage therapy, attach a copy of each certification of completion. 

SECTION E:  LICENSE AND CONVICTION INFORMATION 
Failure to list any conviction(s) or disciplinary action(s), regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action. 

LICENSE INFORMATION:  The following questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held (such as nursing, EMT, 
cosmetology, etc.) in a state other than Nebraska.  

1 Do you hold or have you held a license in any 
other state(s)? 

If yes, what state(s)? What type of license? 

Yes □     No  □

If YES, has your license ever been denied, 
refused renewal, limited, suspended, revoked 
or had other disciplinary measures taken 
against it? 

Type of Action Date of Action Name of State Taking Action 

Yes □     No  □
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CONVICTION INFORMATION:  You must list ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions (regardless of when they occurred). 

1 Have you EVER been 
convicted of a 
misdemeanor or felony? 

Name of Conviction  Date of Action Name of Court Taking 
Action 

Yes □     No  □

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list 

• MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor
• DUI / DWI
• Controlled Substance
• Open Container
• Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
• Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
• Disturbing the Peace
• Assault / Prostitution
• Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
• Reckless Driving

• Driving under Suspension / Revocation
• License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
• Fail to Appear in Court
• False Information or Reporting
• Leave the Scene of an Accident
• Operator not Carrying License
• Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
• Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
• Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
• Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license 
discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action.  
Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx   or by phone 402-471-0175. 

SECTION F:  PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSE        
If you practice prior to being issued a Nebraska license, you are subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up 
to $1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and regulations. 

1 Have you practiced Massage Therapy in Nebraska without a Nebraska license?  

(does not apply to practicing in a school setting while you were a student) 

Yes  □   No   □

If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced 
in Nebraska without a Nebraska license and what is the 
business name, location and telephone number of the 
practice:  

Number of days: 

Name of Business: 

City: 

Telephone #: 
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SECTION G:  ATTESTATION         
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): 
I attest that: 

□ I am a citizen of the United States.

□ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act or a non-
immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 document, asylum, etc. 

□ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation
listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc. 

□ I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.

I further attest that:         
1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and
2. I am of good character and all statements on this application are true and complete.

Print Name:  _____________________________________ 

Signature:     _____________________________________  Date:  _____________________ 

To provide massage therapy services in Nebraska, you must hold a Nebraska active massage therapy license and you must practice in a 
Nebraska licensed massage therapy establishment or provide such services at the location of the client.   

A massage therapy establishment license is not required if you practice within the confines of a hospital, nursing home, or other similar  
establishment or facility (such as a cosmetology salon or nail technology salon) licensed by the Department of Health and Human  
Services.  However, if you wish to advertise your practice under a different name than the name of the hospital, nursing home or salon, 
then a massage therapy establishment license is required.   

FYI:  Chiropractic establishments, physical therapy establishments, and doctor’s offices are NOT licensed by the Department.  

You can check an establishment license at the following website: http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi 

MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx  

Contact Information:  Licensure Unit, 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 
Telephone: 402-471-2117 / FAX:  402-742-1106 / E-Mail: DHHS.Licensure2117@nebraska.gov    

http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi
http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
mailto:DHHS.Licensure2117@nebraska.gov
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SECTION H:  TEMPORARY LICENSE (complete this section if you want a temporary license) 
 

A temporary license to practice massage therapy may be granted to any person who meets all the requirements for a license except 
passage of the licensure examination or if the individual is applying for licensure by reciprocity as specified in 172 NAC 81-003.  A temporary 
license is subject to the following requirements and limitations: 

 

1. A temporary licensee must be supervised in his or her practice by a licensed massage therapist.  
2. A temporary license will be valid for 60 days or until the temporary licensee takes the examination, whichever occurs first. In the 

event a temporary licensee fails the examination required by such section, the temporary license will be null and void, except that 
the department, with the recommendation of the board, may extend the temporary license upon a showing of good cause why such 
license should be extended. A temporary license may not be extended beyond six months.  

3. A temporary license will not be issued to any person failing the examination if such person did not hold a valid temporary license 
prior to his or her failure to pass the examination. 

 
Reciprocity:  An applicant who is licensed in another jurisdiction may apply for a temporary license to practice massage therapy if s/he is 
completing the additional hours necessary to equal 1,000 hours as defined in 172 NAC 81-003.01, item 3 or needs to take the licensure 
examination. 
 
Temporary Applicant completes the following Information:   
 
Applicant Name:  ______________________________ 
 
 
 

Name of 1st  
Supervising Massage 
Therapist: 

First: 
 
 

Middle: 
 

Last: 
 

License Number: #: 
 

 
 

Names of Other 
Supervising Massage 
Therapists: 
 

First: 
 
 

Middle: 
 

Last: 
 

License Number #: 
 
First: 
 
 

Middle: 
 

Last: 
 

License Number #: 
 
First: 
 
 

Middle: 
 

Last: 
 

License Number #: 
 

 
 

Name and Address of 
Establishment where 
practice will occur: 

Name of Establishment: 
 
 
Street/Route: 
 
 
City: 
 
 

State: 
 

Zip: 
 

Establishment  
License Number: 

# 
 

 
Supervisor(s) must sign below: 
 

I hereby state that the foregoing statement is true.  I (we) agree to supervise the above named applicant for a temporary massage 
therapy license in accordance with the laws and regulations of Nebraska.   
 

 
                date 
Signature of Supervising Massage Therapist 

 
              date 
Signature of Supervising Massage Therapist 

 
              date 
Signature of Supervising Massage Therapist 

NOTE:   A temporary license is issued 
for 60 days and will expire upon receipt 
of the examination results (pass or fail). 
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