PROVISIONAL FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME | AND I
LICENSING PROCESS OVERVIEW

It is vital that you carefully read the instructions and complete all forms accurately! Incomplete forms may
result in the return of the entire application packet and result in a delay in the licensing process.

Keep in mind that this process will take time, and does involve other State and Local Agencies. Do not set an
opening date for your facility, until the process is completed, and your license has been issued. The process
typically takes 60-90 days to complete and your application will be processed in date order received.

1. Prior to submitting the Application and additional required documents, you must complete. Family Child
Care Home Orientation and Prepare to Care Health and Safety Training.

http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/How-to-Apply-for-a-Child-Care-or-Preschool-License.aspx

http://dhhs.ne.gov/Child%20Care%20Documents/Prepare%20to%20Care%20Health%20and%20Safety
%20Instructions.pdf#search=prepare%20to%?20care

2. Refer to the “Instructions for Provisional Application” attached to the front of the Application for Family
Child Care Home I or Application for Family Child Care Home II.

3. Submit the licensing fee, application and the additional forms and documentation required for the specific
license type for which you are applying. The licensing fee and all required documents must be submitted
together.

The following is a list of items that may be completed prior to attending the mandatory Family Child Care
Home Orientation Training. Forms are available on the Forms Page of this website and additional information
will be available and distributed at the Family Child Care Home Orientation Training.

e Proof of Liability Insurance: Proof of liability insurance in the form of a binding quote from your insurance
company will be accepted, however, prior to license issuance a copy of the activated liability insurance coverage
must be submitted. Business or child care insurance must be identified on the document and include: name of
Licensee or program, licensed address, effective and expiration date, and $100,000 per occurrence.

e First Aid & CPR Certification — See Training Page on this website for a list of approved training courses. CPR
must be an instructor trained course. First Aid may be an instructor trained course or an internet (on-line) course.
Copies of front and back of First Aid and CPR Certification cards must be included with the application paperwork.

e Report of Law Enforcement Contact Form — The Report of Law Enforcement Contact form must be completed
and signed by all persons 19 years or older who are listed on your application. The report must be updated and re-
signed each year.

Criminal History Record Check — A national fingerprint criminal history record check through the Nebraska State
Patrol must be obtained. For a list of Live Scan locations visit:

https://statepatrol.nebraska.qov/sites/default/files/public livescan list.pdf

To schedule an appointment for Lincoln or Omaha fingerprinting:

https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-calendar/schedule/index

An individual living in Nebraska less than 12 months must obtain document of criminal history record check from
the previous state(s) of residence.
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e Health Information Report Form (for Primary provider). Is required annually for the provider and all staff who
are responsible for the care and supervision of children more than 20 hours per week. The provider/staff completes
the Health Information Report. A health care professional is no longer required to complete a blood pressure check
and urinalysis.

Form A: Authorization for Release of Information — You will not need to sign this form unless the Department
requests to contact your health care professional.

e Zoning Approval
o Family Child Care Home | a copy of zoning approval is needed if you reside in the following cities: Grand
Island, Holdrege or Lincoln.

o Family Child Care Home Il a copy of zoning approval from the relevant jurisdiction is required. To ensure the
location of your program meets zoning codes for a Family Child Care Home Il, you will need to obtain written
approval from the local city planning department or county office for your area. Some cities have zoning
requirements that are not included in the licensing regulations. Check the zoning requirements in your
community before you purchase or rent a house or other building for a Family Child Care Home II.

o Family Child Care Home Il within Omaha city limits. A Certificate of Occupancy from the City of Omaha is
required as proof of zoning approval. If the proposed child care property is zoned Residential (R), this means
that child care services are allowed only if the structure is occupied primarily as a residence by the owner or
tenant. If this condition is not met, the residentially zoned property will NOT meet the licensing requirement
of “providing a copy of approval from the relevant jurisdiction.”

e Sketch - of the facility showing the dimensions and arrangement of each room to be used by children and the
outdoor play area.

¢ Proof of Residence — Family Child Care Home I only.
FIRE SAFETY INSPECTION:

Once ALL the required & accurately completed items are received, the Child Care Licensing Staff will make a referral
to the State of Nebraska, Fire Marshal or Local Fire Marshal.

Keep in mind that wired-in and interconnected smoke detectors are required. Wired-in and interconnected smoke
detectors need to be on every level of the home/premise, regardless if children are allowed on that level. Smoke
detectors must be in every room in which children will be sleeping. Battery operated smoke alarms do not meet the
State Fire Safety Codes for a Family Child Care Home | or II.

The Fire Marshal will not release an approval until the inspection fee has been paid.

CHILD CARE LICENSING INSPECTION: Once all required forms are received and approved a Child Care
Inspection Specialist (CCIS) will contact the Applicant to set an appointment to conduct an on-site inspection.

LICENSE ISSUANCE: Before a provisional Family Child Care Home I or Il license can be issued the Child Care
Inspection Specialist must find the applicant in compliance with Child Care Licensing regulations. In addition for
Family Child Care Home II the following must be met:

e The facility must meet Fire Safety approval.

¢ Notice of Fire Safety approval received by Children’s Services Licensing.

Page 2 of 2




