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Department of Health and Human Services  
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 
E-mail:  dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov
Telephone #:  402-471-2118

License # _________________ 

SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION: All applicants must complete this section) Items 1 and 2 are public 
information.  Name and Licensure information will be displayed on the INTERNET at 
https://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi 

NOTE:  All mailings will be sent to the address you indicate below– if you change your address, you must advise this office. 

1 Legal Name 

(Last, First, Middle) 

2 Mailing Address Street/PO/Route: 

City: State or Country: Zip: 

3 Date of Birth: Month/Day/Year: Place of Birth (city/state/country): 

4 Check the 
Appropriate 
Box(es)  

  Social Security Number (SSN);  
  Alien Registration Number (“A#”);  
  Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) 
number 

SSN# 

A# 

I-94 #

If you have both a SSN and an A# or I-94 number, you must report both. Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure 
of your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is not public information, DHHS may disclose it for child 
support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.   

Phone Fax 

Licensee E-mail Address Credentialing contact e-mail Address 

MILITARY SERVICE: 
If you meet the following definition of ‘military’, you are NOT required to pay the renewal fee or meet the continuing education 
requirements.  (You must check the box and submit the requested document) 

Military:  I have served in the regular armed forces of the United States or am actively engaged in military service (active duty for at least 30 

days) during part of the 24 months immediately preceding the biennial renewal date. (You must attach your military orders) 

□

Office Use ONLY Federation Yes__ No___ 

BOARD Yes__ No___ NPDB Yes__ No___ 

NDEN Yes__ No___ 

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT
Genetic Counselor

FEE: $145.00 

Original Application/Signature Required 

Reinstated on: ________________

Office Use Only 
Revised 12/2024

mailto:dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov
https://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi
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SECTION B – CONVICTION (All applicants must complete this section) Failure to disclose any such conviction or 
disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action, including, but not 
limited to, payment of a civil penalty. 

NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that results in conviction or license 
discipline, you are required to report such actions to the Investigative Unit  within 30 days (Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-1, 125) at 
https://www.dhhs.ne.gov/reg/investi.htm or by requesting a reporting form by telephone at 402-471-0175. 

Answer each of the following questions by placing a (✓) in the appropriate box (yes or no) and completing the information 
requested.  All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation. 

Conviction Information: 

Have you  
been convicted  
of a misdemeanor  
or felony since your 
license was active? 

Type of Crime or Licensure Action Date of Action 
Name of Court/Entity 

Taking action 

Yes No 

If you answered YES, you must submit the following documents: 
a) The court record, which includes charges and disposition;
b) A letter from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions

the applicant has taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;
c) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of any treatment obtained; and
d) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status if the applicant is currently on

probation;

Section C: LICENSURE INFORMATION: The following questions relate to a credential that you hold or have held 
in health services, health related services or environmental services in another jurisdiction. 

Are you licensed in any 
state? 

Yes No 

If yes, what State(s) are you licensed in? 
  State                             License # 

What type of license do you hold? 

If yes, has your license 
ever been denied, 
refused renewal, limited, 
suspended, revoked or 
had other disciplinary 
measures taken against 
it? 

Yes No 

Type of Licensure Action 
Date 
of 
Action 

Name of Entity taking 
Action 

If you have had any disciplinary actions taken against your credential you will need to request verification of the license be 
submitted, along with a copy of any public documents regarding any and all actions.  This documentation needs to be 
provided to the office directly from the State Board. 

https://www.dhhs.ne.gov/reg/investi.htm
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SECTION D - CONTINUING COMPETENCY:    
 

I have met the continuing competency requirements within the 24 months immediately preceding that date of application for 
reinstatement: 

• Recertify with the American Board of Genetic Counseling by examination or by continuing education; or 

• Recertify with the American Board of Medical Genetics by participating in Maintenance of Certification. 
 

 

All applicants for reinstatement must answer the following question by placing a (✓) in the 
appropriate box (yes or no): 
 
Have you met the continuing competency requirements as outlined above?   

 
Yes 

 

 
No 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
WAIVER OF CONTINUING COMPETENCY:  If you have not completed the continuing competency requirement, and wish to apply for 
a waiver of the continuing competency requirement, check the appropriate reason below: 
 

 Military:  I have served in the regular armed forces of the United States during part of the 24 months immediately preceding the 
biennial licensure renewal date.  (Attach official documentation stating dates of service)  If you meet this exemption, you are not 
required to pay the renewal fee. 

 Initial License:  I was first licensed within the 24 months immediately preceding my date of application for active status. 
 
 

SECTION E - QUESTIONS:   
 

(All applicants must complete this section) Failure to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when 
the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action, include, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty.  The questions 
pertain to the time period since the license was last active, unless otherwise specified.   
 

Answer the following questions either yes or no by placing a (✓) in the appropriate box.  All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in 
detail.  Additional documentation may be requested by the Board/Department after submission of initial information. 
 

SECTION I Yes No 

1 Are you currently suffering from any condition for which you are not being appropriately treated 
that impairs your judgment or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice 
medicine in a competent, ethical and professional manner? 

 

 
 

 

 
 

SECTION II Yes No 

1.  Have you had hospital or institutional privileges denied, reduced, restricted, suspended, 
revoked, terminated or placed on probation? 

 

 
 

 

 
 

2.  Have you been requested to voluntarily resign or suspend hospital or institutional privileges 
while under investigation from a hospital, clinic, institution, or other medically related employment? 

 

 
 

 

 
 

3.  Have you been notified that any action against your hospital or institutional privileges is pending 
or proposed?   

 

 
 

 

 
 

5.  Have you been allowed to withdraw your staff privileges from a hospital or institution? 

 

 
 

 

 
 

6.  Have you been subject to staff disciplinary action or non-renewal of an employment contract?  

 

 
 

 

 
 

SECTION III Yes No 

1.  Have you been notified of any professional liability claim that resulted in an adverse judgment, 
settlement, or award, including settlements made prior to suit in which the patient releases any 
professional liability claim against the applicant? 

 

 
 

 

 
 

2.  Are you aware of any professional liability claims currently pending against you? 
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SECTION F – PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL 

An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up 
to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential. 

 
1 I have practiced (profession) in Nebraska since I last 

held an active credential?   
 

 Yes      No 
 

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you 
practiced in Nebraska and what is the business 
name, location and telephone number of the practice: 
  

 
# of days:  _______________ 
 
 
Name of Business: 

 
City: 

 
 

 
 

 

SECTION G - ATTESTATION 

 

Lawful Presence in the United States Attestation: For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129, I attest as follows: 

 

Please check only one of the boxes below: 

 I am a citizen of the United States; or 

 I am an alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act; or 

 I am a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act. 

 
Alien or Non-Immigrant Status:  If you are a qualified alien lawfully admitted into the United States OR a non-immigrant lawfully 
present in the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful presence which may include a copy of: 
 
1. A “Green Card” otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; or 

2. An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; or 

3. A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”), an Employment Authorization Card/Document is NOT acceptable; or 

4. A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record). 

 

If you are an Alien or Non-Immigrant, your credential will NOT be issued until such proof is received by our office and your documents 
are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security.  This process may take four to six weeks. 

 

Criminal Background Check Notification:  Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131, an applicant for an initial license to practice a profession 
which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background check.  I understand that I am able to 
receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to me directly from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-16.34, and that 
I could then freely disclose any such information to whomever I choose.  By signing this application, it is my intent to authorize the 
dissemination of any national criminal history record that may pertain to me to the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) with 
whom I am applying for licensure. I understand that I am entitled to challenge the accuracy and completeness of any information contained 
in any such report, and that you will provide me a copy of the criminal history background report, if any, you receive on me if I appear at the 
DHHS in person and present proper identification.  Information on how to challenge your federal report can be found at FBI.gov.  To 
challenge your Nebraska state record, contact the Nebraska State Patrol-Criminal Identification Division. I may obtain a prompt 
determination as to the validity of my challenge before you make a final decision about my application for licensure.   

 
Application Attestation:  I further attest that: 
 

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; 
2. All statements on the application are true and complete; and 
3. I am of good character. 

 

 

Print Name:  _____________________________________ 

 

 
Signature:     _____________________________________           Date:  _____________________ 
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