

Nebraska Application Information Electrologist by EXAMINATION

License Requirements:

- 1. Be at least 17 years old and of good character.
- 2. Be (a) a citizen of the United States, (b) an alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act, (c) a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act, or (d) a person who submits (i) an unexpired employment authorization document issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security, Form I-766, and (ii) documentation issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security, the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, or any other federal agency, such as one of the types of Form I-797 used by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, demonstrating that such person is described in section 202(c)(2)(B)(i) through (ix) of the federal REAL ID Act of 2005, Public Law 109-13. Such credential shall be valid only for the period of time during which such person's employment authorization document is valid.
- 3. Have graduated from a United States high school or its equivalent.
- 4. Pass the National examination must be taken in the English.
- 5. Have graduated from a school of electrology and completed at least 600 hours.

If applying for a Temporary License:

You must complete the entire application attached, the temporary application available on our website, and pay the fee for both the license and temporary license. The temporary license is only good for 8 weeks or until you take the examination (whichever occurs 1st). You must work under the supervision of a licensed electrologist.

LICENSE FEE WAIVER: Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license and temporary license fee **is waived**:

- 1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 17 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- 2. <u>Low-Income Individual:</u> You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program **such as** the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, <u>OR</u> your household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
 - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
 - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a
 document showing current enrollment.
 - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.
- 3. Military Family: You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

<u>MILITARY:</u> To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

APPLICATION PROCESS TO APPLY FOR A LICENSE:

STEP 1: Get copies of the following documents:

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language. You must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.

1.	Education: a PHOTOCOPY of:
	☐ Your High School diploma, GED or Equivalent Educational document.
	☐ Your Electrology school diploma.
	Attachment 1 completed by your school.
	Information Polating to Military Education, Training, or Service

<u>Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:</u>

If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe <u>is substantially similar</u> to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.

		Electrology License Information	on - Page 2
2.	US Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at le	east 17 years old):	
	U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following	ng:	
	☐ Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birt	· 7	
	☐ U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired).		
	☐ Certificate of Naturalization.		
	Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.		
	A Driver's License is NOT acceptable.		
	NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the	following:	
	☐ Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent	Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the ca	ard;
	Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an	unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa	or
	☐ Employment Authorization Card AND		
	☐ An approved deferred action status (DACA)☐ A pending application for asylum in the Unit		
	☐ A pending application for asylum in the office ☐ A pending or approved application for temporary		
		us to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent	
	Residence in the United States or condition	al permanent resident status in the United States.	
	NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citize	enship) are verified by our office through the Department of	of Homeland
	Security. This process may take up to 30 days.		
3.	Other State License Information: If you hold	or have held a health related license in any state (other t	han
ა.		nust contact that state and request a certification of your li	
	not send a copy of your license).		Jan. 30 (4.0
	Consisting Informations II FVED		
4.		eived a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, che neanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not miso	
		gardless of when they occurred) on the application; you ar	
	required to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Mis	sdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed	through
		nty court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and	criminal
	court misdemeanor/felony convictions.		
	If you have convictions, you must submit:		
	(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor	r and felony convictions, that includes the statement of cha	arges and
	final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state of		1
	(ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions	n (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions tha	t tne
		sing the terms and current status of the probation, if the a	oplicant is
	currently on probation.		•
	If you had an alcohol and drug avaluation and/or co	mpleted treatment, to assist the Board and Department in	a roviou of
		vider must submit all evaluations/discharge summaries di	
	Department.		,
	The following provides SOME examples	s of convictions; this is <u>NOT</u> a complete list	
	MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor	Driving under Suspension / Revocation	
	DUI / DWI / Open Container	License Vehicle without Liability Insurance	
	Controlled Substance	False Information or Reporting	
	Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary	Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident	

 Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction Operator not Carrying License

- Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
- Disturbing the Peace
- Assault / Prostitution • Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
- Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House • Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal

• Fail to Appear in Court • Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by phone 402-471-0175.

	Electrology License Information - Page 3
STEP 2: Complete all pages of the Application	

Temp License: If you plan to apply for a temporary license, you must submit the temporary application, the license application

and pay both fees.

STEP 3: Ask your electrology school to complete Attachment 1 of the application

STEP 4: Submit your application to the Licensure Unit					
☐ Completed Application ☐ Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document ☐ Education Documents ☐ Conviction Records (if you have convictions)	License Verifications (if licensed in another state) The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver). See the license application for a listing of fees for electrology. Pay by check/money order (your cancelled check is your proof of receipt); debit or credit card is not accepted.				

STEP 5: Register for the Examination

- 1. Before you can register for the examination, you must receive the 'approval to test' letter from our office (Licensure Unit). This approval letter will be sent by E-MAIL.
- 2. When you receive this letter, schedule your test date and site with PSI and pay the examination fee directly to PSI. (Do not send this fee to the Licensure Unit)
- 3. The day of your examination, you must take the following to the test site:
 - The 'approval to test' letter that you received from our office. You need to print the letter in order to enter the examination site.
 - A photo ID.

Special Accommodations: If you have a disability that requires any accommodations for taking the examination, an "Accommodation Request" must be requested from our office and submitted with your application.

Application Review: All applications are reviewed in date order received.

- If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be required.
- If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail your 'approval to test' letter.

Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.

Contact Information: Licensure Unit, Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov



Electrologist Application by Examination

Licensure Unit

LICENSE FEES:

Check only one waiver:

☐ Low-income Individual:

P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

Mail this application to the address listed above.

☐ Young Worker: I am under 26 years old.

You must complete all sections of this application

☐ My nousehold adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.													
☐ Military Family: I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.													
	The state of the s												
chaiss Pay	B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers you must pay the fee listed in the chart below. Review the charts to determine the fee required based on the month and year in which your license will be issued Pay by check or money order to: Licensure Unit Your cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted.												
	YEAR	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	June	July	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec
Eve	en Number Year	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95
Ode	d Numbered Year	\$95	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95
SE	CTION A: INFO	RMATIC	ON										
1	You must print yo	ur Legal	Name be	elow									
	First:			Mid	ldle:				Lá	ast Name	:		
	List any other names, you are or have ever been known as (AKA), including maiden name and your last name on your birth certificate												
2	2 Address: Street/PO/Route:												
	City: State or Country: Zip:												
3	Social Security N	,	•				•				•		
4	4 If you ARE NOT a U.S. Citizen, list your Alien Registration # or I-94 #: □ A#: □ I-94 #												
puk	b. Rev. Stat. §§38- blic information, Dh d provide it to the D	HS may	share yo	ur social	security	number f	or child s						

A. Fee Waiver: If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license and temporary license fee is waived.

medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition

☐ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the

Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR

6	Phone #: (optional)*		A	Additional Phone #: (optional)*						
	E-Mail Address:	E-Mail Address:								
* pl	* phone number and e-mail is optional, but providing this information will speed up communication with you									
7	Have you ever been denied take a license examination i State?		s 🗆 N	No □ If	yes, explain:					
	CTION B: CONVICTION lure to list any conviction(s) o				the action occurre	ed could resi	ult in disciplinary action			
	NVICTION INFORMATION:									
1	Have you EVER been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	Name of Conviction	on		Date o	of Action	Name of Court Taking Action			
	Yes □ No □									
	The followi	ng provides <u>SOM</u> E	example				list			
	 MIP/ Tobacco Use by Min DUI / DWI Controlled Substance Open Container Shoplifting / Theft / Burgla Unauthorized use of a Fin Disturbing the Peace Assault / Prostitution Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly 		 Driving under Suspension / Revocation License Vehicle without Liability Insurance Fail to Appear in Court False Information or Reporting Leave the Scene of an Accident Operator not Carrying License Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check 							
	ENSE INFORMATION: The ssage, etc.) in a state other t		relate to	a license that	you currently hold	or have held	d (such as nursing, EMT,			
1	Do you hold or have you he any other state(s)?	If yes, what state(s)? What ty		What type of lice	ense?					
	Yes □ No □									
	If YES, has your license every refused renewal, limited, so revoked or had other discipataken against it?	Type of	Action	Date of Action	Name of S	state Taking Action				
	Yes □ No □									

Place of Birth (City/State or COUNTRY):

Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year):

SECTION C: EDUCATION						
1. Did you receive a High School Diploma OR GED	Check the appropriate box:					
certificate:	☐ High School					
Include photocopy of Diploma or GED with this Application.	□ GED					
2. List the name of your Electrology School where you completed your training:						
	School Name:					
Include photocopy of your diploma						
	Location: (City/State)					
If you have completed education, training, or service the for this credential while you were a member of the arme	Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.					
SECTION D: PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSE						
If you practice prior to being issued a Nebraska license, day up to \$1,000, or other action as provided in the state	you are subject to assessment of an Adminitutes and regulations.	strative Penalty of \$10 per				
Have you practiced Electrology in Nebraska with	Nebraska without a Nebraska license? Yes □ No □					
If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska without a Nebraska license and what is the business name, location and telephone	Number of days:					
number of the practice:	Name of Business:					
	City:					
	Telephone #:					
SECTION E: ATTESTATION						
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 three	ough 4-114 and 38-129 (<i>check ONE of the b</i>	oxes below): I attest that:				
☐ I am a citizen of the United States.						
☐ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I am a a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United Statedocument, asylum, etc.	•	•				
☐ I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.						
☐ I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.						
I further attest that:						
 I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and I am of good character and all statements on this application are true and complete. 						
Print Name:						
Signature:	Date:					



Licensure Unit P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

ATTACHMENT 1
Verification of Electrology Training

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE ELECTROLOGY SCHOOL

THIS IS TO VERIFY THAT:							
The records of:	(Name of School)						
School Address:	(City and State)						
Indicate that:	(Student's Name)						
The above nar	ned Student has comp	ted the following training:					
	Type of Training:		Total Hours of Training completed:				
	Date Enrolled:		Date School Diploma or Certificate Issued:				
Dat	te Training Completed:						
Date of Final	Practical Examination:		Practical Score:				
Date of Fina	l Written Examination:		Written Score:				
I state that I am t	the person completing th	form and all information provid	ded is true and complete.				
Printed Name of	School Representative	_					
Signature of Sch	ool Representative	_					
Date Signed							