
Department of Health and Human Services  
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 
Telephone #:  402-471-2299 

  (Please print or type application) 

Check below the type of license that you are reinstating 

   Audiology    Speech-Language Pathology 

SECTION A - Personal Information: (All applicants must complete this section.) This section is public information and 

will be displayed on the INTERNET http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/lookup
NOTE:  All mailings from this office will be sent to the address you indicate below – If you change your address, you must 
advise this office. 

1 Legal 
Name: 

First: Middle/MI: Last: 

Maiden 
Name 

Name: Other names you are known as (AKA) 

2 Present 
Address 

Street/Box/Route: 

City: State: Zip: 

3 License number: 

4 Phone #:(optional) Fax# (optional)

5 E-Mail Address:(optional) 

Additional information requested (this will NOT be displayed on the internet):
6 Check the 

Appropriate 

Box(s): 

□ Social Security Number (SSN);

□ Alien Registration Number (“A#”); or

SSN# 

A# 

If you have both a SSN and an A#, you must report both. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-123 mandates disclosure of your social 

security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information, DHHs may disclose it for child support 

enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 

Reinstatement Application Fee: The Audiology/Speech-Language Pathology reinstatement fee is $175. 

Prorated Fee:  If your license is reinstated within 180 days of the expiration date of December 1st of even-numbered 

years, the reinstatement application fee is prorated and is $70.00.  

Please make your check payable to the Licensure Unit. 

Year Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 

Even $175 $175 $175 $175 $175 $70 $70 $70 $70 $70 $70 $175 

Odd $175 $175 $175 $175 $175 $175 $175 $175 $175 $175 $175 $175 

All licenses expire December 1st of even-numbered years.  

Revised:   9/2020

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT TO PRACTICE AUDIOLOGY 

OR  S PEE CH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY 

Revoked, Expired, Placed on Inactive Status, Lapsed, or

Voluntary Surrender 



SECTION B – Conviction and Licensure Information (all applicants must complete this section) Failure to disclose
any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action, 
including, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty. 

Please answer each of the following questions with regard to the time period since your license was last 

renewed.  Answer each of the following questions and submit the information requested.  All ‘yes’ responses MUST be 
explained in detail. 

# Question Yes No 
Type of Crime or Licensure 

Action 
Date of Action 

Name of Court/Entity 
Taking action 

1. Have you ever been 
convicted in any 
jurisdiction of any 
misdemeanor or 
felony? 

□ □

If you answered YES to the question above, you must submit the following documents with your application: 

 Copy of the court record(s), which includes charges and disposition;

 Written explanation of the events leading to the conviction(s) (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have taken
to address the behaviors/actions related to the conviction(s);

 All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction(s) involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense
and if treatment was obtained and/or required;

 A letter from your probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on probation.

The following questions relate to a credential(s) that you hold or have held in health services, health related 

services or environmental services in Nebraska or another jurisdiction. 

Yes No 

2. Are you or have you
been credentialed in
any state or
jurisdiction?
(Current, inactive or

expired credentials

must be listed)

□ □

If yes, what State(s) are you 
credentialed in? 

What type of credential do you hold? 

3. Has your credential
(ever been denied,
refused renewal,
limited, suspended,
revoked or had other
disciplinary
measures taken
against it?

□ □

Type of Credential Action Date of Action Name of Entity 
taking Action 

If you answered YES to any of the questions above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this 
office: 

 Certification of your credential in another state

 Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken

SECTION C – YOU MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS/INFORMATION: Please answer each of the 

following questions with regard to the time period since your license was last renewed. If you answer YES to any of the 
following questions, you must provide an explanation. 

1. Have you committed any immoral or dishonorable acts that would evidence unfitness to practice 
audiology or speech-language pathology? 

 Yes   No 

2. Have you abused or become dependent on or actively addicted to alcohol, any controlled substance, 
or any mind-altering substance?   

 Yes   No 

3. Have you practiced audiology or 
speech-language pathology :    

 Fraudulently?

 Beyond its authorized scope?

 With gross incompetence or gross negligence?

 In a pattern of incompetent or negligent conduct?

 Yes   No 
 Yes   No 
 Yes   No 
 Yes   No 
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4. Have you practiced audiology or speech-language pathology while your ability to do so was impaired 
by alcohol, controlled substances, drugs, mind-altering substances, physical disability, mental 
disability, or emotional disability?   

 Yes   No 

5. Have you permitted, aided, or abetted the practice of any profession by a person not credentialed to 
do so?  

 Yes   No 

6. Have you been denied the right to take a Credentialing Examination?  Yes   No 

7. Have you used untruthful, deceptive, or misleading advertising?   Yes   No 

8. Have you been convicted of fraudulent or misleading advertising, or of violating the Uniform 
Deceptive Trade Practices Act?   

 Yes   No 

9. Have you unlawfully distributed intoxicating liquors, controlled substances, or drugs?  Yes   No 

10. Have you invaded a field of practice for which you are not credentialed?  Yes   No 

11. Have you violated:  The Uniform Credentialing Act?

 Mandatory Reporting Regulations?

 The Uniform Controlled Substances Act?

 Yes   No 
 Yes   No 
 Yes   No 

12. Have you committed any acts of unprofessional conduct relating to the practice of audiology or 
speech-language pathology? (Refer to the practice act for your profession) 

 Yes   No 

SECTION D – Practice Prior to Reinstatement: An individual who practices prior to reinstatement of a credential is 
subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the 
statutes and regulations governing the credential. 

1. 
Have you practiced Audiology or Speech-Language Pathology in Nebraska 
since your license was placed on expired, inactive, non-disciplinary 
revocation, lapsed or following voluntary surrender unrelated to discipline? 

 Yes      No 

2. If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska and 
what is the business name, location and telephone number of the 
practice. 

# of days: ___________________ 

Name of business: 

City/State/Zipcode 

Phone number of business: 

SECTION E - CONTINUING COMPETENCY AUDIOLOGY/SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY 

CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS: You must have completed twenty (20) hours of continuing education in the 
preceeding twenty-four (24) months for reinstatement of your license. In order for a continuing education activity to be accepted 
for reinstatement of a license, the continuing education activity must relate to the practice of Audiology or Speech-Language 
Pathology. 

WAIVER OF CONTINUING COMPETENCY:   If you have not completed the continuing competency requirements and wish to 
apply for a waiver of the continuing competency requirements please complete the information below. If you have completed 
part of the required continuing education hours, please submit documentation of these hours with the documentation required 
for the waiver you checked below. 

 I have served full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, or a National Guard call to active service for 
more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the National 
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration during part of the 24 months immediately preceding the biennial licensure 

renewal (You MUST provide official documentation of Armed Forces Service, such as Active Duty Orders or Military 

Identification Card to claim this exemption.  If you meet this exemption, you are not required to pay the renewal 

fee.) 

 Initial License:  I was first licensed within the twenty-four months immediately preceding the date of my application for 
reinstatement.   


Illness/Disability:  I have suffered a serious or disabling illness or physical disability, which prevented completion of the 
required number of continuing education hours during the 24 months immediately preceding the licensure renewal date.  
(Attach a statement from treating physician(s) stating that the licensee was injured or ill, the duration of the illness or injury 
and of the recovery period, and that the licensee was unable to attend continuing education programs during that period.) 

Documentation (if requested above) must be provided to support your request for waiver of continuing education.  If
the specified documentation is not submitted, review and processing of your license reinstatement cannot occur. 

Extenuating Circumstances:  I was not able to complete my continuing education requirement due to circumstances 
beyond my control.  (You must submit documentation to support this waiver request.)  
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All 20 hours may be from Content Area I with no more than 5 hours from Content Area II.  The Board does not pre-approve 
continuing education programs.  It is the licensee’s responsibility to attend or participate in continuing education activities which 
meet the guidelines pursuant to NAC 23-004.01C.  The Board retains final authority for acceptance of any educational activity 
submitted by the licensee to meet the continuing competency requirement. 

CONTENT AREA I: 
 Anatomic and physiologic bases for the normal development and use of speech, language, hearing, and

balance;
 Physical bases and processes of the production and perception of speech, language, and hearing;
 Linguistic and psycho-linguistic variables related to normal development and use of speech, language,

and hearing;
 Technological, biomedical, engineering, and instrumentation information which would enable expansion of

knowledge in the basic communication processes;
 Various types of disorders of communication, their manifestations, classification, and cause;
 Evaluation skills, including procedures, techniques, and instrumentation for assessment;
 Principles in habilitation and rehabilitation of communication disorders; and
 Principles in evaluation and rehabilitation of balance and vestibular disorders.

CONTENT AREA II (must relate to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology) 
 Regulations and implementation of federal and/or state regulated programs;
 Service delivery models;
 Ethical practices;
 Supervision issues related to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology;
 Related disciplines which interface with delivery of audiology and speech-language pathology services;

and
 Reimbursement issues.

Acceptable continuing education activities are: 

 Programs at State and National meetings which relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the
practice of audiology or speech-language pathology e.g., a meeting of the Nebraska Speech-Language-Hearing
Association and/or the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association;

 Formal education courses which relate directly to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of
audiology and speech-language pathology;

 University sponsored courses relating to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of
audiology and speech-language pathology;

 Home study with testing mechanism.  Licensee may complete a maximum of ten hours of continuing education
requirements by home study each 24 month renewal period.  The home study program must have a testing
mechanism.

 Participation in research or other scholarly activities that result in professional publication or acceptance for publication
that relate to audiology or speech-language pathology.  Five contact hours will be awarded for each publication.

 Licensees may earn up to a maximum of ten contact hours of continuing education each 24 month renewal period for
authorship, editorship, co-authorship, co-editorship, or all of these, of a juried publication relating to audiology or
speech-language pathology. A licensee’s documentation must  include a copy of the final publication or verification of
publication e.g., title, page and table of contents;

 Nationally recognized specialty certification examinations:  A licensee may earn a maximum of ten hours; and
 One hour credit will be awarded for each hour of scientific presentation by a licensee acting as an essayist or a lecturer

to licensed audiologists and/or speech-language pathologists.
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SECTION F– Attestation 

For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): 

I attest that:  

□ I am a citizen of the United States; OR

□ I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act; OR

□ I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States; OR

□ Check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal

Immigration and Nationality Act.

  NOTE:  You may still be eligible for a certificate if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization   

  Document (EAD) and evidence of meeting section 202(c)(2)(B)(i) through (ix) of the Federal REAL ID Act of 2005. 

If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, you must submit proof of lawful presence in the U.S.  Your certificate will NOT be 
reinstated until such proof is received by our office and verified through the Department of Homeland Security (may take 4-6 weeks). 

Signature and Application Attestation:  I attest that:

1. I have read the reinstatement application or have had the reinstatement application read to me; and
2. All statements on this reinstatement application are true and complete.

Print Name:  _____________________________________ 

Signature:     _____________________________________           Date:  _____________________

If an applicant has practiced while his/her credential was expired, inactive, or voluntarily surrendered, the Department may, with 
the recommendation of the Board, take one or more of the following actions: 

1. Assess an administrative penalty, in which case a separate notice of opportunity for hearing will be sent to the
applicant; 

2. Deny the application to reinstate the credential;
3. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential;

and/or
4. Reinstate the credential.

If an applicant has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations governing the credential, the Department may: 
1. Deny the application for reinstatement of the credential;
2. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential;

and/or
3. Reinstate the credential.

The Department will act within 150 days on all completed applications.  The Department’s decision may be appealed to the 
Director by any party to the decision.  The appeal must be in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 
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