DD Planning Home

State Council Members

Regional Councils


DD Tips (Newsletter)


State Plan

Annual Report

State & Federal Network


Nebraska Planning Council on
Developmental Disabilities
What is a Regional Council?

The Nebraska Planning Council on Developmental Disabilities (State Council) undertakes advocacy, capacity building and systemic change activities on behalf of persons with developmental disabilities and their families. These activities contribute to a coordinated consumer and family directed comprehensive system that includes needed community services, individualized supports and other forms of assistance that promote self-determination, independence, productivity and integration and inclusion in all aspects of community life. The Regional Councils are affiliated with the State Council.

The state is divided into six geographical areas called PDFregions, each having a voluntary regional council. Membership on the regional councils is open to any interested person living in the region, including persons with disabilities, family members, service providers and advocates. Operating under regionally approved by-laws, the councils elect officers annually. The majority of the councils meet monthly to handle needed business.

Each Regional Council receives funds from the State Council for use in their areas to support local activities similar to those of the State Council. These include public education/awareness efforts; trainings for individuals, families and service providers; and support to attend relevant conferences or workshops. The regional councils also assist the State Council and its committees in carrying out activities such as subaward reviews, hosting public forums and advocacy efforts.

For more information on the Regional Council in your area, locate your county and contact person below.

Region I Counties: Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Kimball, Morrill, Scottsbluff, Sheridan, Sioux
Wendy Kemling, Chairperson
Scottsbluff Public Schools
1722 1st Avenue
Scottsbluff, Nebraska  69361
Phone:  308-635-6200

Region II Counties: Arthur, Chase, Dawson, Dundy, Frontier, Gosper, Grant, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Keith, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Perkins, Red Willow, Thomas
Pam Mann, Chairperson
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
Developmental Disabilities System
200 South Silber Street, Building  #4
North Platte, Nebraska 69101
Phone: 308-535-8079

Region III Counties: Adams, Blaine, Buffalo, Clay, Custer, Franklin, Furnas, Garfield, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Howard, Kearney, Loup, Merrick, Nuckolls, Phelps, Sherman, Valley, Webster, Wheeler
Laura Ritterbush, Chairperson
Goodwill Industries of  Greater Nebraska
4009 6th Avenue, Suite 48
Kearney, NE  68845
Phone: 308-455-1400

Region IV Counties: Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Brown, Burt, Cedar, Cherry, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Holt, Keya Paha, Knox, Madison, Nance, Pierce, Platte, Rock, Stanton, Thurston, Wayne
Cheri Matthews, Chairperson
Educational Service Unit #1
211 10th Street
Wakefield, Nebraska 68784-5014
Phone: 402-287-2061

Region V Counties: Butler, Fillmore, Gage, Jefferson, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Polk, Richardson, Saline, Saunders, Seward, Thayer, York
Adam Feser, Chairperson
The Arc of Lincoln
5730 R Street, Suite C2
Lincoln, Nebraska  68505
Phone:  402-421-8866

Region VI Counties: Cass, Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy, Washington
Janet L Miller, Chairperson
Munroe-Meyer Institute
985450 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, Nebraska 68193-5450
Phone: 402-595-5735

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader
which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.