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Purpose: To provide information regarding new legislation and, when applicable, provide 
instructions for implementation. 

Background: Legislative Bill (LB) 800, which took effect on July 15, 2010, addresses 
youth crime, early intervention, parental involvement, school attendance, and 
alternatives to detention. The first four sections of this memo address changes to 
Nebraska law that require action on the part of DHHS staff. The remaining sections 
provide information on changes that may impact DHHS's work with children, youth, and 
families; however, those changes do not require specific action by DHHS staff in the 
field . 

Elimination of the Juvenile Review Panel 

390 NAC 8-001 .10 and 390 NAC 8-002 state that DHHS has 30 days in which to appeal 
a court order, and ten days to request a review by the Juvenile Review Panel. LB 800 
eliminates the three-judge juvenile review panel. Instead, the law now provides that the 
Nebraska Court of Appeals will conduct the review of final orders or judgments from a 
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juvenile court and that it will do so "in an expedited manner and shall render the 
judgment and write its opinion, if any, as speedily as possible." 

Required Action: 
• Upon receipt of a court's order of a plan for the care, placement, or services for a 

child that is different from DHHS's plan and that DHHS believes is not in the best 
interests of the child, the CFS Specialist or Supervisor must immediately contact 
DHHS-Legal and Regulatory Services to discuss the possibility of an appeal of 
the order and the possibility of a request to stay the order. DHHS has 30 days in 
which to appeal the order. 

• Appeal of the order does not automatically stay the order. A party must request 
a stay. Therefore, when an order has been appealed, and there is a question 
regarding the status of the order (i.e., whether the order is stayed or must be 
implemented pending the appeal decision), the CFS Specialist or Supervisor 
must contact DHHS-Legal and Regulatory Services for direction. 

Placement of Status Offenders in Secure Detention 

Effective January 1, 2013, LB 800 prohibits the placement into secure detention of a status 
offender who has violated a court order. 

Required Action: 
Although LB 800 allows a court to continue to issue such orders until January 1, 2013, 
effective immediately DHHS will not request an order for placement of a status offender 
into secure detention. 

Videoconferencing 

LB 800 allows the use of videoconferencing as follows: 
"All communications, notices, orders, authorizations, and requests authorized or required 
in the Nebraska Juvenile Code; all nonevidentiary hearings; and any evidentiary 
hearings approved by the court and by stipulation of all parties may be heard by the 
court telephonically or by videoconferencing in a manner that ensures the preservation 
of an accurate record." 

Required Action: DHHS will agree to videoconferencing when the county attorney also 
agrees, and no DHHS attorney is involved. When an attorney from DHHS-Legal and 
Regulatory Services is involved, the CFS Specialist or Supervisor must refer the 
question regarding videoconferencing to that attorney. 

Sealing of Juvenile Records 

LB 800 changes provisions relating to the sealing of juvenile criminal justice records. 
Sealing a record means that a record shall not be available to the public except upon an 
order of a court and upon good cause shown. 

Youth may use the sealing process if they were under the age of eighteen years when 
the offense took place and the county/city attorney offered the youth pretrial diversion or 
mediation or filed a juvenile court petition under subdivision (1), (2), (3)(b), or (4) of 
section 43-247 or filed a criminal complaint in county court against the youth for a 
misdemeanor or infraction, other than for a traffic offense that may be waived, under the 
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laws of this state or a city or village ordinance. The county attorney must provide 
information about this right to the youth. If a youth has satisfactorily completed his/her 
rehabilitation program (for example, completed diversion, probation, supervision, or 
other treatment), the youth, or the court on its own motion, may initiate proceedings to 
seal the juvenile record. The court must notify the county or city attorney and DHHS of 
the proceedings, if the youth is a ward of the state or DHHS was a party in the case. 
After conducting a hearing, the court may order the youth's records to be sealed if it 
finds the youth has been rehabilitated to a satisfactory degree. 

The court shall provide verbal or written notice to the youth that his or her records are 
sealed. Subsequently, the court must order that the information or data be deemed 
never to have occurred and send notice of this order to any law enforcement agencies, 
county attorneys, city attorneys, institutions, persons, agencies, treatment providers, 
therapists, or other service providers referenced in the court record and order that all 
original records of the case be sealed. Upon written request of the subject of the order 
and a copy of the order, a public office or agency shall seal all records related to the 
case. 

A sealed record shall be accessible to law enforcement officers, county attorneys, city 
attorneys and the sentencing judge in the prosecuting and sentencing of criminal 
defendants. Inspection of the records may be done by the following persons: 

• The court or any person allowed to inspect by order of the court for good cause 
shown; 

• Probation; 
• DHHS for purposes of child or youth intake services, preparation of case plans 

and reports, preparations of evaluations, the supervision and protection of 
persons placed with DHHS for licensing or certification purposes; 

• The youth who is the subject of the sealed records; 
• Party to a civil action based on the sealed records; and 
• Persons engaged in bona fide research. 

A person who, without legal authority, knowingly releases, disseminates, or makes 
available information from a sealed record may be held in contempt of court. However, 
DHHS may release, disseminate, or make available information from a sealed record in 
performance of its duties in supervising and protecting persons placed with DHHS. 

In applications for employment, license, or other privileges, a person cannot be 
questioned about sealed records. 

Required Action: DHHS staff members receiving a written request from a youth to seal 
his or her record, a notice from a court that a motion to seal has been filed, or a notice 
that the court has sealed a record, must contact DHHS Legal and Regulatory Services 
for further direction. In addition, if a DHHS staff member receives a request for records 
from someone other than a law enforcement officer, a county attorney, a city attorney, or 
a sentencing judge in the investigation of crimes and in the prosecution and sentencing 
of criminal defendants, then that DHHS staff member must contact DHHS Legal and 
Regulatory Services for direction; prior to making the contact, the staff member should 
check to see if a court has entered an order sealing the records involved. 
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Pre-adjudication Physical and Mental Evaluation 

LB 800 establishes a time frame for the court to conduct a hearing on the results of the 
pre-adjudication evaluation as follows: 

Upon completion of the evaluation, the youth shall be returned to the court 
together with a written report of the results of the evaluation. The youth shall 
appear before the court for a hearing on the report of the evaluation results within 
ten days after the court receives the evaluation. 

Required Action: None 

Evaluations with the Office of Juvenile Services 

LB 800 establishes a time frame for the court to conduct a hearing on the results of an 
evaluation with the Office of Juvenile Services as follows: 

A youth placed for evaluation with the Office of Juvenile Services shall be 
returned to the court upon the completion of the evaluation or at the end of thirty 
days, whichever comes first; and the court shall hold a hearing within ten days 
after the evaluation is completed and returned to the court by the office. 

Required Action: None 

Controlled Substance 

LB 800 amends Nebraska law related to controlled substances, allowing the court to 
impound the Motor Vehicle Operator's License for persons 18 years of age or younger or 
to prohibit such persons from obtaining a license for a period of time. The court can also 
require drug education, community service, and a drug assessment; the sanctions 
available to the court depend on the number of previous offenses. 

Required Action: None 

Probation 

Probation officers are authorized to exercise power of temporary custody if there is 
reasonable cause to believe that a youth has violated or is about to violate his or her 
probation and that the youth will attempt to leave the jurisdiction or to place lives or 
property in danger. 

When a probation officer has reasonable cause to believe that a youth subject to 
probation has committed or is about to commit a substance abuse violation or a 
noncriminal violation, but will not leave the jurisdiction and not place lives or property in 
danger, the probation office shall impose one or more administrative sanctions (e.g., 
counseling, increased supervision, travel restriction, or evaluation) or submit a written 
report to the adjudicating court. 

When a probation officer has cause to believe that a youth has violated a condition of 
probation other than a substance abuse violation and will not leave the jurisdiction and 
not place lives or property in danger, the probation officer shall submit a written report to 
the adjudicating court. 
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When a probation officer has cause to believe that the youth has violated probation and 
will attempt to leave the jurisdiction or to place lives or property in danger, the probation 
officer shall take the youth into temporary custody and may call on a peace officer for 
assistance. 

Immediately after detention, the probation officer shall notify the county attorney and 
submit a written report. The county attorney shall release the youth from the supervision 
of the probation officer or file a motion to revoke probation. 

Required Action: None 

Civil Citation Pilot Program 

This pilot program applies to counties containing a city of the metropolitan class. A civil 
citation is a noncriminal notice which cannot result in a criminal record. 

A peace officer who has reasonable grounds to believe a youth has committed a 
misdemeanor offense, other than one that involves a firearm, sexual assault, or 
domestic violence, may issue the youth a civil citation. Upon issuing this citation, the 
peace officer shall send a copy of this citation to the county attorney, juvenile 
assessment center, and parents or guardian. The youth shall then report to the juvenile 
assessment center and may be required to participate in community service or other 
services such as family counseling or substance abuse services. If the youth fails to 
comply with this citation or is issued a third or subsequent citation, a peace officer shall 
take the youth into temporary custody. 

Required Action: None 

Truancy or Excessive Absenteeism 

Custody by a Peace Officer: LB 800 permits a peace officer to take a child into 
temporary custody without a warrant or order of the court when the officer has 
reasonable grounds to believe the child is truant from school. LB 800 also establishes 
procedures relating to temporary custody, disposition, and custody requirements. 
Finally, LB 800 also requires that, when a child is taken into temporary custody based on 
the officer's belief that the child is truant, the officer must deliver the child to the school in 
which the child is enrolled. 

Court-ordered Consequences for Parents: When a child is adjudicated under 43-
247(3)(a) due to excessive absenteeism from school, the juvenile court may issue the 
parents or guardians of the child a fine not to exceed $500 for each offense or order the 
parents or guardians to complete specified hours of community service. The court may 
require that all or part of the service be performed for a public school district or nonpublic 
school if the court finds that service in the school is appropriate under the 
circumstances. 

Violation of Compulsory Attendance Law: LB 800 requires that all school districts have a 
written policy on excessive absenteeism developed in collaboration with the county 
attorney of the county in which the prinCipal office of the school district is located. The 
policy must state the number of absences or the hourly equivalent upon the occurrence 
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of which the school must render all services in its power to compel the child to attend 
some public, private, denominational, or parochial school, which the person having 
control of the child may designate, in an attempt to address the problem of excessive 
absenteeism. The number of absences in the policy may not exceed five days per 
quarter or the hourly equivalent. School districts may use excused and unexcused 
absences for purposes of the policy. Examples of services to be provided: educational 
evaluation, educational counseling, and investigation by school staff of reasons for 
excessive absenteeism and discussion with the family regarding services to remedy the 
conditions. 

Required Action: None 

Report of Excessive Absenteeism to the County Attorney 

LB 800 requires that when a child is absent more than 20 days per year or the hourly 
equivalent, the attendance officer must file a report with the county attorney in the county 
where the person resides. The county attorney may file a complaint against the person 
violating the mandatory-attendance statute. 

Required Action: None 

Task Force for Evaluation and Recommendations to Reduce Excessive 
Absenteeism 

Schools are required to make regular reports on excessive absenteeism. LB 800 
creates the Truancy Intervention Task Force, which will consist of the probation 
administrator or designee, commissioner of education or designee, and DHHS chief 
executive officer or designee. The purpose of the task force is to study and evaluate the 
data contained in the reports required by LB 800 and to develop recommendations to 
reduce incidents of excessive absenteeism. 

Required Action: None by field staff 
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