Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


 
Child Care Subsidy Background Checks
  
The Child Care Subsidy Program is required to complete background checks annually on all new and renewing child care subsidy providers and anyone in the household age 13 and older if care is provided in the provider’s home. The child Care Subsidy Program will complete background checks annually on Child Care Center Directors. The Child Care Center is responsible for conducting background checks on their staff. If the provider has resided outside of the State of Nebraska in the last 5 years, the provider will be responsible to obtain the information below from the previous State(s) where residency was held.
 
The background checks include but are not limited to:
  • State of Nebraska Central Registry for Adult Abuse and Neglect
  • State of Nebraska Central Registry for Child Abuse and Neglect
  • State Patrol Sex Offenders Registry
  • State of Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Local and State law enforcement agencies
The Department will not enter in to a Subsidy Provider Agreement with a potential individual provider if a history of convictions for misdemeanor or felony actions that endanger the health and safety of any client is indicated. This includes crimes against a child or vulnerable adult, crimes involving intentional bodily harm, crimes involving the illegal use of a controlled substance, or crimes involving moral turpitude of on the part of the potential provider.
 
The Department staff must deny or terminate service provider approval when conviction has occurred in the following areas:
  • Child pornography;
  • Child or adult abuse;
  • Driving under the influence: two or more DUI charges are pending, or convictions have occurred within the last five years, or two of any combinations of DUI charges pending or convictions occurred within the last five years;
  • Domestic assault;
  • Shoplifting after age 19 and within the last five years;
  • Termination of provider status for cause from any DHHS program within the last ten years;
  • Possession of any controlled substance within the last five years;
  • Possession of a controlled substance with intent to deliver within the last ten years;
  • Felony or misdemeanor assault without a weapon in the last 15 years;
  • Prostitution or solicitation of prostitution within the last five years;
  • Felony or misdemeanor robbery or burglary within the last ten years;
  • Rape or sexual assault; or
  • Homicide
Pending charges must be reviewed by the Department Resource Development to determine whether the client’s safety is in jeopardy. Other convictions must be considered using the guidance in 392 NAC 5-001.04A and weighted to similar offenses included in this list.
Good Life. Great Mission.