Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT

Cannot retrieve the URL specified in the Content Link property. For more assistance, contact your site administrator.

Nebraska law gives CSE the authority for many enforcement remedies.  
 

The most common methods are:

  • Income Withholding
  • Credit Reporting
  • License Suspension
  • Tax Refund Intercept
  • Passport Denial


Income Withholding
Income withholding is the most effective way to collect child support. Money is taken directly out of the parent’s paycheck. (link to the federal Income Withholding form?)

Credit Reporting
Past due support over $500 will be reported to the Credit reporting agencies.

License Suspension
If more than three months of past due support is owed these licenses may be suspended:
Driver's  (except CDL)
Recreational (hunting, fishing)
Professional.
 
Tax Refund Intercept
A parent’s tax refund may be taken if a case is three months behind and more than $500 of past due support is owed.

Passport Denial
A parent’s passport may be withheld if more than $2,500 of past due support is owed.

 
For more information, contact:
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
Child Support Enforcement
P.O. Box 94728
Lincoln, NE 68509-4728
Phone: (402) 441-8715
1-877-631-9973 (toll-free)

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.