Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

‚ÄčChild Support Enforcement

Custodial Parent

These and other enforcement methods may be used. The most common methods are:
  • Income withholding;
  • Credit reporting;
  • License suspension;
  • Federal and State tax refund intercept;
  • Passport denial; and 
  • Court action
Income Withholding
Income withholding is the most effective way to collect child support. Money is taken directly out of the non-custodial parent's paycheck.
Credit Reporting
Past due support over $500 will be reported to the four credit bureaus.
License Suspension
If more than three months of past due support is owed these licenses may be suspended:
  • Driver's (except CDL);
  • Recreational (hunting, fishing, etc.); and
  • Professional (CDL, physician, attorney, etc.)
Federal and State Tax Refund Intercept
A non-custodial parent's Federal and State tax refund may be intercepted if the criteria are met.
Passport Denial
A non-custodial parent's passport may be withheld if more than $2,500 of past due support is owed. Once a parent's passport is withheld, Nebraska regulation requires the parent to pay the balance to zero to have the passport released.
Court Action
The courts may also enforce your order using different methods such as:
  • Payment plan;
  • Fine; and
  • Jail time.
For more information, contact:
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
Child Support Enforcement
P.O. Box 94728
Lincoln, NE 68509-4728
Phone: (402) 441-8715
1-877-631-9973 (toll-free)

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.