Newsroom > DHHS News Release
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
November 22, 2008
Kathie Osterman, Communications and Legislative Services, (402) 471-9313 or (402) 326-4277
27th Use of Safe Haven Law Occurred
Lincoln - Todd Landry, director of the Division of Children and Family Services for the Department of Health and Human Services, said there was one use of Nebraska’s safe haven law on November 21, the last day on which the safe haven law applied to children up to age 18.
A 14-year old boy from Yolo County, California, was left at the Kimball County Hospital, in Kimball, late Friday afternoon by his mother, who drove to Nebraska.
The boy is currently in a foster home. DHHS is in the process of gathering additional information, including contacting the appropriate agencies in California.
This brings the total number of uses of LB 157 to 27, and the total number of children left at a hospital to 36 since September 13. LB 157 went into effect on July 18.
Governor Dave Heineman signed LB 1 into law on November 21. It went into effect at 12:01 a.m. on Saturday, November 22. The bill amended the law to apply to infants up to 30 days old.
More information about Nebraska's safe haven law, as well as information about local resources for families, can be found on the Department's Website at http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/Children_Family_Services/Pages/SafeHaven.aspx.