Newsroom > DHHS News Release


June 26, 2008

Jeanne Atkinson, Communications and Legislative Services, 402-471-8287,


  DHHS Says Storm Victims May Be Eligible for Disaster Food Stamp Assistance


Lincoln - As storm recovery efforts continue, Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) officials say that people directly affected by recent sever weather may qualify for Disaster Food Stamp Assistance.

"The recent storms were so severe and so widespread that some Nebraskans have been left without food or had their food spoiled when they lost electricity," said Todd Landry, Director of DHHS’ Division of Children and Family Services. "We asked the federal government to help us open a Disaster Food Stamp Program so storm victims can replenish their food supply, and our request was granted."

Disaster Food Stamp Assistance has special rules to follow and some income guidelines apply. For example, in order to get Disaster Food Stamp Assistance, you have to either live or work in one of the disaster-declared counties * and you have to answer "yes" to at least one of the following questions:

  • Has your home or self-employment property been damaged or destroyed by the disaster?
  • Does your household have any other disaster-caused expenses?
  • Has your income been delayed, reduced or stopped because of the disaster?
  • Does your household have any cash or money in a bank account which you cannot get to because of the disaster?

Under this special disaster program, there is a limit of one month’s assistance. After that one month allotment, applicants wishing to continue food stamp benefits must apply for "regular" food stamps at their local DHHS office and meet the income and eligibility requirements for the regular food stamp program.

DHHS staff will accept Disaster Food Stamp Assistance applications at any of the five disaster relief centers (DRC) that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has set up. Disaster relief centers will be located in Lexington, Kearney, Schuyler, Ceresco and Omaha. DHHS will staff the centers from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, starting June 26. People can also apply over the phone by calling 1-877-632-5437.

Applicants must bring documents to prove their identities (e.g. driver’s license, wage stub, birth certificate) and where they live (e.g. rent or mortgage receipt, post office records, utility bills, driver’s license). Qualified applicants will receive benefits within 24 hours.

For more information about the Disaster Food Stamp Assistance, contact DHHS’ Division of Children and Family Services at 1-877-632-5437. Additional disaster information is also available on-line at Look under Hot Topics for " Resources for Coping with Tornadoes and Severe Storms."

*Presidential disaster-declared counties include: Buffalo, Butler, Colfax, Dawson, Douglas, Gage, Hamilton, Jefferson, Kearney, Platte, Richardson, Sarpy and Saunders counties.


Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) Address Business Hours
DRC #1
County - Dawson
Old Wal-Mart Building
1501 Plum Creek Pkwy
Lexington, NE 68850   
9 AM - 6 PM
Mon - Sat
DRC #2
County - Buffalo
Mid-Town Business Center
2202 Ave A
Kearney, NE 68847
9 AM - 6 PM
Mon - Sat
DRC #3
County – Colfax
Schuyler Elementary School Cafeteria
200 W 10th St.
Schuyler, NE 68661   
9 AM - 6 PM
Mon - Sat
DRC #4
County – Saunders   
City Hall- Community Ctr
217 S 2nd St.
Ceresco, NE 68017   
9 AM - 6 PM
Mon - Sat
DRC #5
County – Douglas/Sarpy   
Millard Fire Station
7010 S 142nd St
Omaha, NE 68138   
9 AM - 6 PM
Mon - Sat