Newsroom > DHHS News Release


December 5, 2008

Marla Augustine, Communications and Legislative Services, (402) 471-4047 or


Members Appointed to Health Boards

Lincoln—The State Board of Health, an advisory body to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, recently appointed or reappointed 31 members to serve on professional boards that are responsible for granting license privileges to health care providers.

Board of Cosmetology, Electrology, Esthetics, Nail Technology, and Body Art – Cosmetologist Lyra Faltys of Howells

Board of Registered Environmental Health Specialists – Environmental Health Specialists Doug Clark of Gretna, George Hanssen, Scott Holmes, and Joyce Jensen, all of Lincoln

Board of Hearing Aid Instrument Dispensers and Fitters – Audiologist Kimberly Joyce of Omaha, and Hearing Aid Instrument and Fitter Stephen Boney, PhD, of Lincoln

Board of Massage Therapy – Massage Therapists Kimberly Adams Johnson, LMT and Keli Hupka, LMT, both of Lincoln, and Ed Orcutt, LMT, of Omaha. Public Member Gail Lorenzen, ME

Board of Medical Nutrition Therapy – Whitney Sears Goldner, MD, of Omaha. Medical Nutritionist Karen Miller, MS, RD, LMNT, of Lincoln

Board of Medical Radiography – Medical Radiographers Denise Logan, RT(R)(M) of Lincoln, Michael McFeely, RT of Scottsbluff, James Temme, MPA, RT of Omaha, and Ginger Winfrey, RT of Phillips. Limited Radiographer Francine Oran of Lincoln

Board of Medicine and Surgery – Medical School Faculty Member Carl Smith, MD, and Judith Scott, DO, both of Omaha

Board of Mental Health Practice – Certified Professional Counselor Shari Schnuelle, LIMHP, LMHP, CPC, of Grand Island, and Public Member William Gaughan of Omaha

Board of Nursing – Nursing Service Administrator Lori Smith, RN, of Mitchell; Staff Nurse Kathryn Yost, RNC, of Gering, Practical Nurse Susan James, LPN-C, of Kearney, and Public Member Anthony LaRiche, Jr., of Lincoln

Board of Nursing Home Administration – Steve Higgins, MD, of Lincoln, Susan Bamesberger, RN, of Hampton, and Public Member C. Dean Schmid of Albion

Board of Occupational Therapy Practice – Occupational Therapist Linda Storz, OTR/L, of Lincoln

Board of Pharmacy – Hospital Pharmacist Kevin Borcher, PharmD, of Omaha

Board of Psychologists – Psychologist Jerry Van Winkle, PsyD, of Kearney

For more information on upcoming vacancies, visit the DHHS Web site at To receive an application by mail contact the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, P.O. Box 95009, Lincoln, NE 68509-5007, by email to ; or by phone at (402) 471-6515.

- 30 -