Newsroom > DHHS News Release

For Immediate Release
June 7, 2016

Contact Leah Bucco-White, Communications and Legislative Services, (402) 471-9356 or

State Board of Health Members Appointed

Lincoln – Governor Pete Ricketts has appointed Michael Hansen, FACHE, of Columbus to the State Board of Health.  He replaces Roger Reamer of Seward in the Hospital Administrator Member position. 

Hansen has been the President/CEO of Columbus Community Hospital since 2009.  He is a Rotary Club member and previously served on the Columbus Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and as a TEAMMATES Mentor.  He has 34 years of experience in healthcare. 

The State Board of Health appoints members to 30 health care professional licensing boards.  Its members review rules and regulations, as well as credentialing and scope-of-practice changes of health professionals.  The board has a public health recognition program for community preventive health efforts. The board prepares an annual report to the Governor and meets annually with the senators of the Health and Human Services Committee of the Legislature. 

The Governor also reappointed five members to the Board of Health:  Diane Jackson, APRN, from Kearney; Debra Parsow, Public Member from Omaha; Wayne Stuberg, PhD, PT, from Omaha; James Trebbien, Public Member, from Omaha; and Doug Vander Broek, DC, from Lincoln. 

The board’s 17 members are appointed by the Governor, with confirmation from the Legislature, to five-year terms.  Members include two medical doctors, two nurses, a hospital administrator, a dentist, a veterinarian, an engineer, a pharmacist, an optometrist, a podiatrist, an osteopath, a chiropractor, a physical therapist, a mental health professional, and two members representing the interests of the public.  For more information on the State Board of Health, visit or contact Monica Gissler, at 402-471-6515. 
- 30 -