Newsroom > DHHS News Release
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
December 27, 2018
Leah Bucco-White, Communications and Legislative Services, 402-471-9356
New Child Passenger Safety Law Starts Jan. 1, 2019
Lincoln – Car seats and booster seats protect your kiddos in the car. Starting January 1, 2019, Nebraska’s child passenger safety law changes to help keep children safer as they travel. According to the new law:
- Children must ride rear-facing up to age 2 or until they reach the upper weight or height limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer.
- Children up to age 8 must ride in a correctly installed car seat or booster seat.
- Children up to age 8 must ride in the back seat, as long as there is a back seat equipped with a seat belt and is not already occupied by other children under 8 years old.
- Children 8 to 18 years old must ride secured in a seat belt or child safety seat/booster.
“Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children in Nebraska,” said Judy Martin, Deputy Director of Public Health for the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. “As children get older, their risk increases because they’re moved from a safety seat to a seat belt only too soon or they’re allowed to ride in the front seat where an airbag could cause injury. That is why it’s so important to choose the right seat and know the law to help keep your child safe at every age and every stage. “
Search #GetSeatiated on Facebook or Twitter or visit https://drivesmartne.org/get-seatiated/ for more details about safe transportation of children and the new car seat law.
To make sure you’re using a car seat or booster correctly, have it checked by a certified child passenger safety technician. There are over 400 across the state who help their communities by checking seats at fitting stations and check events. To find a technician or event in your area, visit http://www.safekidsnebraska.org/carseats.