Deportment of Heoth & Haer

N|EWS RELFASE DHHS 4

Communications & Legislative Services = Phone: 402-471-9108 = Fax: 402-471-3996 = www.dhhs.ne.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
December 23, 2013

CONTACT

Marla Augustine, Communications and Legislative Services, (402) 471-4047 or marla.augustine@nebraska.gov

Celebrate the Holidays Safely
Facts About Drinking Alcohol

Lincoln - Alcoholic beverages are part of many holiday celebrations, but there are things about alcohol use and

your health you might want to know:

e Consuming five or more alcoholic beverages in just one night can affect your brain and physical activities
for up to three days.

e Your attention span is shorter for periods up to 48 hours after drinking.

e Binge drinking on a single occasion slows your body’s ability to ward off infections even up to 24 hours
after getting drunk.

e Alcohol slows muscle growth.

e Coming from a family with a history of alcoholism increases your risk for becoming an alcoholic.

e Eighty percent of young people feel that parents should have a say in whether they drink alcohol.

e Parental disapproval is the number one reason why young people choose not to drink.

e In Nebraska, a person age 20 or younger who is convicted for minor in possession of alcohol will have their
driver’s permit or license impounded by the court for 30 days.

e According to the most recent roadside survey information it was determined that after 9:00 pm one of
every 12 drivers on the road was legally drunk.

e If you operate a vehicle on Nebraska roadways, you have already given your consent to submit to a blood,
breath, or urine test when asked by a law enforcement officer. Refusal to comply can result in your license
being revoked.

o Nebraska ranks 4th nationally among all states in DWI arrests per capita.

e In 2012, the average blood alcohol level for individuals arrested for drunk driving in Nebraska was .161.
The legal limit is .08.

e At a .08 blood alcohol concentration level, a driver’s crash risk is 11 times higher than a non-drinking
driver.

e The average financial cost of being convicted for driving while intoxicated is more than $5,000.

e In 2012, the conviction rate for those who were arrested for DWI in Nebraska was 90 percent.
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“Celebrate the holidays safely,” said Scot L. Adams, director of the Division of Behavioral Health at the Nebraska
Department of Health and Human Services. “Keep in mind that overconsumption of alcohol may result in
unwanted consequences—health, legal, family and more. Safety first.”
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Note: The sources of the above information are the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism and the
Nebraska Office of Highway Safety.



