
 

 

 

 

 

 

FINGERPRINTING PROCEDURE 
Please read and follow these instructions carefully to avoid delays in processing. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fingerprints must be obtained and submitted to Nebraska Medicaid and Long-Term Care 

(MLTC).  MLTC is required to verify to the Nebraska State Patrol that you are an existing or 

newly enrolling Nebraska Medicaid provider prior to the Nebraska State Patrol processing your 

request for a criminal background check. The person being fingerprinted is responsible to pay the 

criminal background check fee of $45.25 (subject to change) separately, directly to the Nebraska 

State Patrol as explained below.  

Criminal background checks are NOT expedited for any reason.  

After your fingerprints are submitted, the process takes approximately 4-6 weeks for the results 

of your criminal background check to be received by MLTC where they will undergo review. 

You will be notified in writing if the result of your criminal background check causes you to be 

ineligible to be enrolled as a Nebraska Medicaid provider.  

1. DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARDS. 

2. Print your full name, address with zip code, *Social Security Number, date and place of 

birth, and physical identifiers on the fingerprint cards. DO NOT sign the fingerprint cards 

until the law enforcement officer has verified your signature with the form of identification 

that you provide. DO NOT write in the field labeled ORI.  

*Social Security Number: If you do not have a United States Social Security Number, you 

must provide in the “Miscellaneous No: MNU” section a Government issued 

identification number, a “consulate” number or a Passport Number. Please indicate the 

type of number provided.  

3. In the box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted” it must say ‘Medicaid Provider-High Risk’. If the 

field is blank, please clearly print those words.   

4. You must take one form of photo ID with you when obtaining your fingerprints. Acceptable 

forms of ID include a driver’s license, visa or passport. If you are from a foreign country and 

do not have one of these forms of photo identification, provide any documentation issued by 

your country, legal sovereign or consulate.  

 

 

 

 



 

FEE:  Pay by credit card at www.ne.gov/go/nsp. This is an internet pay site through 

PayPort. Select “Medicaid Provider- High Risk” as the transaction item. You will then need 

to enter the provider’s name, date of birth and the last 4 digits of social security number 

(optional). You can pay by echeck (additional fee of $1.75) or credit card (additional fee of 

2.49%). The website will ask you to select the type of payment you are making.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OR 

The fee, $45.25, for your Criminal Background Check can be sent, directly to the 

Nebraska State Patrol ATTN: CID, 3800 NW 12th ST, STE A, Lincoln NE 68521 and 

made payable to the Nebraska State Patrol, paid by a personal check, money order, or 

cashier’s check. When sending payment, it is important to include a note that clearly 

identifies the name of the person for whom the criminal background check is requested, 

and that the payment is for Medicaid Provider-High Risk.  

The Nebraska State Patrol does not charge an additional fee for the service of taking your 

fingerprints. However, other law enforcement agencies in Nebraska or in other states may 

charge an additional fee.  

5. After the fingerprinting procedure is completed, the cards will NOT be given to you.  

 Live Scan (electronic fingerprinting) is available at all Nebraska State Patrol (NSP) 

locations. If you have your fingerprints obtained by the NSP, you will NOT be given cards 

to submit on your own. NSP will submit the cards directly to the Medicaid and Long-Term 

Care office for verification of application. 

OR 

 If you obtain your fingerprints from a law enforcement agency other than NSP, request 

the person who took your fingerprints to place the fingerprint cards in the pre-addressed 

envelope provided. Postage for the return envelope is 94 cents (two stamps). You are 

responsible for postage and must have it on the envelope prior to giving it to the law 

enforcement official.   

If you lose the pre-addressed envelope you may provide your own and have it sent to the 

following address:  

Nebraska State Patrol 

Attn:  CID 

3800 NW 12th St, Suite A 

Lincoln, NE 68521  

*DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARDS* 
 

 

 


