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1. Q: What are fingerprint-based criminal background checks (FCBC)? 12/8/16 
A: A Fingerprint-based criminal background check is when an individual is fingerprinted by a law 
enforcement entity and those fingerprints are used to conduct a search of the individual’s criminal 
history. The FCBC conducted for Nebraska Medicaid provider enrollment will use the FBI’s Automated 
Fingerprint Identification System to conduct a nationwide criminal background screening.  

2. Q: Why do I/owners of our business have to submit fingerprints and have criminal background 
checks completed? 12/8/16 
A: Your provider type has been categorized as high risk. State and Federal regulations require all 
Medicaid provider types to be categorized as low, moderate, or high risk based on the risk of that 
provider type committing fraud, waste, or abuse against the Medicaid program. Each risk level requires 
specific screening activities to be completed during a provider’s initial enrollment, re-enrollment, 
reactivation, and revalidation. Fingerprint-Based Criminal Background Checks are one of the required 
screening activities for all high risk providers.   

3. Q: Who has to be fingerprinted? 12/8/16 
A: All individual providers whose provider type is high risk, and all individuals who own 5% or more 
direct or indirect interest in a high risk provider. On a case by case basis providers whose type is not 
classified as high risk may have their risk level ‘bumped up’ to high risk if the provider has a payment 
suspension due to a credible allegation of fraud, or the provider owes an existing Medicaid 
overpayment, or if the provider has been excluded by the Office of the Inspector General (OIG) or any 
State’s Medicaid program in the last 10 years.  
 
The Provider Screening Risk Levels list can be found on the Nebraska Medicaid Program Provider 
Screening and Enrollment webpage: 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Documents/Provider%20Screening%20Risk%20Levels.pdf.  

4. Q: How often must providers and/or owners submit fingerprints? 12/8/16 
A: Fingerprints must be submitted each time a provider competes an initial enrollment, revalidation, 
reactivation, reenrollment, or when the provider is ‘bumped up’. 

5. Q: Where do providers/owners go to be fingerprinted? 12/8/16 
A: Fingerprints must be obtained through a law enforcement agency, such as the Nebraska State Patrol, 
county Sheriff’s office, or city Police Department. The FCBC notification letter that is sent to providers 
will include a list of law enforcement offices that offer LiveScan fingerprint service, but fingerprints may 
be obtained at any willing law enforcement office. Be sure to call ahead to determine whether your 
local law enforcement office offers fingerprinting, how to schedule an appointment, etc.  
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6. Q: How much does it cost and who pays for it? 12/8/16 
A: Currently the cost of obtaining the criminal background check is $45.25, but that amount is subject 
to change. If fingerprints are obtained through the Nebraska State Patrol there is no additional cost for 
the collection of fingerprints. Other law enforcement agencies may charge an additional fee for the 
collection of fingerprints. The person being fingerprinted/background checked is responsible for paying 
all related costs – fingerprints will not be submitted to the FBI until all fees are paid. 

7. Q: What do I do with my fingerprint card once I have been fingerprinted? 12/8/16 
A: Your fingerprint card must be submitted to Nebraska State Patrol using the envelope supplied and 
mailed to: 

Nebraska State Patrol 

Attn:  CID 

3800 NW 12th St, Suite A 

Lincoln, NE 68521  

The envelope (or all envelopes, if multiple FCBC are required due to owners) must be postmarked 
within 30 days of the FCBC notification letter in order to be in compliance.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Q: What if the provider and/or owners reside outside of Nebraska? 12/8/16 
A: The provider and/or owner will need to obtain fingerprints from a law enforcement office in their 
local area and submit their fingerprint card to Nebraska Medicaid at the address above for processing.  

9. Q: How long will it take to get the results of my FCBC? 12/8/16 
A: Processing time can vary, but generally speaking you should expect processing to take a minimum of 
8 weeks. Your enrollment will not be finalized until this screening is completed, so it is important that all 
fingerprints be submitted as quickly as possible so processing can begin. 
 

10. Q: What will happen if FCBC is not completed? 12/8/16 
A: Providers and/or their owners will have 30 days from the date of their notification to be fingerprinted 
(including payment of associated fees) and pay the $45.25 background check fee. Failure to do so 
within the 30 days will result in denial or termination of enrollment.  

11. Q: What if our provider entity has multiple owners and all but 1 completes FCBC on time? 12/8/16 
A: All owners must complete FCBC within the required 30 days otherwise the provider’s enrollment will 
be denied or terminated.  

12. Q: What kinds of convictions will cause a provider’s enrollment to be denied or terminated? 12/8/16 
A: Generally, convictions related to health care fraud; crimes against a child or vulnerable adult; crimes 
involving illegal use, possession, or distribution of a controlled substance. See 471 NAC 2-001 and 42 
CFR 455 Subpart E for more information.  

13. Q: How will a provider know if they or their owners did not pass the FCBC? 12/8/16 
A: Providers will be notified in writing of a denial or termination resulting from a failed FCBC. Providers 
will have the same right to appeal the action as they do any denial or termination.  

14. Q: Who can I contact if I still have questions about FCBC? 12/8/16 
A: Please submit questions to DHHS.MedicaidProviderEnrollment@nebraska.gov or 402-471-9297. 
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