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Medicaid Expansion – Heritage Health Adult 
Provider Monthly Education Series 

The topic of this Provider Monthly Education Series is the COVID-19 vaccines. This month’s edition will cover 
necessary information on the billing for and administration of the vaccine. We invite you to read through this 
information to better understand several necessary and immediate aspects of our vaccination plan.  

We encourage providers to read through Nebraska’s COVID-19 Vaccination Plan. It is available at: 
(http://dhhs.ne.gov/Documents/COVID-19-Vaccination-Plan.pdf). 

The Nebraska DHHS Division of Public Health is now offering a COVID-19 Vaccine provider program. In order 
to participate in this program, you must enroll with the Division of Public Health. For more information, please 
visit: (http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/COVID-19-Vaccine-Information-For-Health-Care-Providers.aspx). 

Effective December 1, 2020, Medicaid-enrolled providers who administer a COVID-19 vaccine to Medicaid 
eligible patients according to the federal Food and Drug Administration’s prescribing indications will be 
reimbursed for the administration of the vaccine. Participating providers have two options for billing Medicaid 
for this vaccination: (1) file a medical claim or (2) bill at the point of sale in a pharmacy. 

As no vaccine payment will be reimbursed, the vaccine CPT code will not be required.  

The COVID-19 vaccine is not supplied by the Vaccines for Children’s (VFC) Program, therefore, the vaccine 
administration may be billed without the CPT code and SL modifier and may be reimbursed in the retail 
pharmacy. There is no co-payment or deductible for members.    

Medical Billing instructions:  

The following administration billing codes are covered under standard billing practice: 

HCPCS  

 

 

 

 

Description Reimbursement Rate 

0001A Pfizer-Biotech COVID – 19 Vaccine 
administration 1st dose 

   $16.94 

0002A Pfizer-Biotech COVID – 19 Vaccine 
administration 2nd  dose 

   $28.39 

0011A Moderna COVID – 19 Vaccine administration 1st 
dose 

   $16.94 

0012A Moderna COVID – 19 Vaccine administration 
2nd  dose  

   $28.39 

 

Single-dose vaccine administration will be reimbursed at $28.39, when those vaccines are available. 

http://dhhs.ne.gov/Documents/COVID-19-Vaccination-Plan.pdf
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/COVID-19-Vaccine-Information-For-Health-Care-Providers.aspx
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Important points to know:  

(1) Administration of a COVID-19 vaccine is a carve-out service for long-term care facilities and providers 
who are reimbursed through the EAPG payment system and the administration can be billed in addition 
to the daily per diem; and 

(2) Rural health care clinics, Indian Health Services, and federally qualified health centers will be 
reimbursed the encounter payment for COVID-19 administration.   

 

Bill at the Point of Sale in a Pharmacy Option:  

The federal Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness Act (PREP Act) authorizes a state-licensed 
pharmacist to order and administer certain COVID-19 vaccines, as long as the pharmacist has met the federal 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) training requirements and state regulations for training for vaccine 
administration.   

• An administration fee will be reimbursed, at the fees listed above, using NCPDP billing;  and 
• No dispensing fee will be reimbursed, only an administration fee. 

o For more information on the PREP Act, please visit: 
(https://www.phe.gov/Preparedness/legal/prepact/Pages/default.aspx); and 

o For questions, please e-mail: dhhs.immunization@nebraska.gov. 
 
The ordering provider may be the ordering pharmacist or collaborating practitioner.  The billing provider will be 
the pharmacy.  

For pharmacy system billing of a COVID-19 vaccine, the administration must be billed using the following 
NCPDP logic:  

• Enter the vaccinating pharmacist or the collaborating practitioner as the prescriber and include 
their NPI number as the Prescriber ID; 

• Enter Prescription Origin Code “5” (Pharmacy); 
• Enter Product/Service ID as the vaccine NDC number; 
• The Ingredient Cost Submitted should have a value of $0 or $0.01; 
• A basis of Cost Determination value of “15” (free product or no associated cost); 
• Enter the Professional Service Code of MA (Medication Administered); and, 
• For two-dose COVID vaccines: 

o Initial dose – use Submission Clarification Code “2” (Other Override); and 
o Final dose – use Submission Clarification Code “6” (Starter Dose). 

A pharmacist trained to order a COVID-19 vaccine must enroll as a group member of a Medicaid-enrolled 
pharmacy to be listed as the ordering provider on the NCPDP claim. Maximus is the provider screening and 
enrollment contractor for Nebraska Medicaid. To enroll as a group member, please contact Maximus at 1-844-
374-5022 or at (www.nebraskamedicaidproviderenrollment.com).   

In a pharmacy, COVID-19 vaccine administration may also be billed using the CMS-1500 or 837:Professional 
claim using the medical billing instructions as above.  

Information regarding the Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness Act may be found at:  
(https://www.phe.gov/Preparedness/legal/prepact/Pages/default.aspx) 
 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.phe.gov%2FPreparedness%2Flegal%2Fprepact%2FPages%2Fdefault.aspx&data=04%7C01%7CChris.Morton%40nebraska.gov%7Cd3febe14b7474c64dba708d8a6b0c9ef%7C043207dfe6894bf6902001038f11f0b1%7C0%7C0%7C637442625511092237%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=JZ9%2Bj3%2FI4WA6MYRBXbhPZsgfSnfSYS%2FZclbw5uvhoeo%3D&reserved=0
mailto:dhhs.immunization@nebraska.gov
http://www.nebraskamedicaidproviderenrollment.com/
https://www.phe.gov/Preparedness/legal/prepact/Pages/default.aspx



