Division of Behavioral Health

Nebraska Family Helpline 

Comments Requested
on the 

Nebraska FINAL
SAMHSA Uniform
Block Grant Mini Application 2019-2020
Nebraska Olmstead Plan
will lay out the goals for transportation, education, health services, support services for families, employment, and affordable and safe housing.
If you or someone you know needs help, please call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at: 1-800-273-TALK.
Prevention is effective. Treatment works.
People recover.
The Division of Behavioral Health is the behavioral health authority for the state and directs the administration and coordination of the public behavioral health system to address prevention
and treatment of mental health and substance use disorders.
The Division’s mission is to provide leadership and resources for systems of care that promote and facilitate resilience and recovery for Nebraskans.

The Division provides funding and contract management to six behavioral health regions and a variety of providers to ensure community-based mental health and substance use prevention and treatment services are available. 

The Division operates three Regional Centers in Lincoln (LRC), Norfolk (NRC), and Hastings (HRC). Combined, they serve about 400 people. Services include general psychiatric services for those committed by a board of mental health or ordered there by a court (LRC), as well as treatment to sex offenders (NRC, LRC). Services also include Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility treatment for substance use disorders for young men (HRC) and for young men who have sexually harmed (LRC/Whitehall).  Most of the young men served have been involved in the criminal justice system. 

An Office of Consumer Affairs focuses on recovery initiatives, planning, research, and advocacy for behavioral health consumers.  

The Division provides the Nebraska Network of Care, an online resource for people with mental illness, their caregivers, and service providers that lets people access information about issues such as treatments, resources and diagnoses, and wellness recovery action plans.
Division of Behavioral Health Community Based Services:
 Sheri Dawson, Director
Sheri Dawson, Director
Division of Behavioral Health
 Consumer Survey
Results 2017

Documents in PDF PDF format require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader,
which can be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.