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LICENSING OF CHILD-PLACING AGENCY 
The purpose of the Guidance Document is to assist Agency providers to become 
a licensed Child-Placing Agency for children placed in their care. 

1. Licensing Process 

The link below accesses the DHHS Children's Services Licensing homepage.  

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Residential-Child-Caring-Agency-Licensing-and-Child-Placing-

Agency-Licensing.aspx 

You will find: 

• Statutes and Regulations for Child-Placing Agency in the right column 

o Read over all the statutes and regulations to better understand what is required to operate 

a child-placing agency for children/youth in Nebraska.   

➢ Regarding regulations in 391 NAC Chapter 8, please note that these regulations 

apply only to serving youth up to the age of 19 years who are in need of out-of-

home placement services for purposes of reunification or adoption. Agencies 

engaged only in adoption activities will not need to develop policy for 391 NAC 8-

005.12 (E).   

Per the requirements contained in both Nebraska Revised Statute and Child-Placing regulations, to 

apply for a Child-Placing Agency license you will need to complete and submit the following: 

• License Application and Full Disclosure of Ownership Statement.  

• Results of completed Child and Adult Abuse and Neglect Central Registry check and Criminal 
history record checks for executive director and/or owners, current within six months.  

• Check or money order for $25.00 non-refundable license fee. 

• A copy of your agency’s personnel and program policies and procedures, staff job 
descriptions, and all forms/documents that will be used in your CPA program which address all 
requirements listed throughout 391 NAC Chapter 8.  

https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Forms.aspx .  

• Evidence of adequate Liability Insurance or if self-insured, of sufficient funds to pay liability 

claims. 

• Evidence of Limited Liability Company, Incorporation, and/or Non-profit status. 

Upon receipt, review, and approval of the documents listed above, your initial Child-Placing Agency 

licensing inspection will be scheduled.   

 

Included in Inspection: 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Residential-Child-Caring-Agency-Licensing-and-Child-Placing-Agency-Licensing.aspx
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Residential-Child-Caring-Agency-Licensing-and-Child-Placing-Agency-Licensing.aspx
https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Forms.aspx
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• Review and verification of all documents submitted to date against the current regulations.

• Compliance Checklist.

• Review of all documents supporting licensure.

• Walk-through of your premises to determine the agency meets physical compliance.

• Review of files of any volunteers and employees hired up to the date of the initial inspection.

o These files must contain the required content as listed in regulations 391 NAC 8-005.02 
through 8-005.06(B)(i).

2. How to Apply

• Please contact DHHS.ChildCareLicensing@nebraska.gov for additional information on 
CPA licensure and an application to begin the process.

mailto:dhhs.childcarelicensing@nebraska.gov

