## Nebraska's Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL): **DRIVING RESTRICTIONS**



**Cell Phones:** 

No use of any type of interactive wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle while in motion. Violation carries a \$200 fine for first offense and assessed points on license. Second offense is \$300 fine and a third offense is \$500.

## \*Disclaimer:

The above list of violations is not inclusive and there are other Nebraska Law violations that can affect driving permits and driving privileges upon judgement of or conviction for the specific violation

Violation of ANY driving restrictions can result in a suspended or revoked license. Individuals under 21 accumulating six or more points within one year are required to take a driver improvement course within three months



**Seat Belts:** 

All occupants riding with a permit holder, including the driver. must wear a seat belt. Violation carries a \$25 fine. Citation issued to GDL permit holder.\*



**Passengers:** 

Holder of a School Permit (SCP) may only transport familv members who reside with them to the school attended by the holder.

A holder of a Provisional Operator Permit (POP) is limited to one passenger younger than 19 who is not an immediate family member, for the first 6 months Violation carries a one point assessment on driving record.\*



## Nighttime **Driving**:

Holder of a Provisional Operator Permit (POP) shall not drive from midnight to 6 AM unless to or from school activities or work. Violation carries a one point assessment on driving record.\*



Alcohol:

"Zero tolerance" (alcohol and other drugs) laws for drivers under the age of 21. First offense results in court impounding permit or license for 30 days. A driver under 21 is subject to the same DUI laws as a person age 21 or over if the blood alcohol content is .08 (BAC) or greater.\*

NE GDL includes: school learners permit, school permit, learners permit, provisional operators permit.

GDL laws are in place for your teen's safety. They keep your teen safe by keeping them out of situations (those above) that put them at higher risk for a crash.

Nebraska GDL laws cover teens ages 14 to 17. A teen driver must hold a POP for one year before receiving an unrestricted license. Good Life, Great Mission,

## **GDL** Resources

www.parentsdrivethemessage.ne.gov www.dmv.nebraska.qov

NEBRASKA

PT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

For more information, contact 402-471-2515