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“This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding 
on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance 
document does not include internal procedural documents 
that only affect the internal operations of the agency and 
does not impose additional requirements or penalties on 
regulated parties or include confidential information or rules 
and regulations made in accordance with the Nebraska 
Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this 
guidance document imposes additional requirements or 
penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of 
the document.” 
 

Pursuant to 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 84-901.03 

 



Child Care Subsidy
392 NAC Chapter 1: Background and General Information

392 NAC Chapter 1-001.12 HOMELESSNESS
Guidance: Children and youth who lack a fixed, regular and adequate nighttime residence are 
considered homeless.

392 NAC Chapter 1-001.13 INFANT
Guidance: Children under the age of six weeks are still eligible for child care if the child care provider 
is able to take a child under the age of six weeks.

392 NAC Chapter 1-001.19 LOW INCOME FAMILY
Guidance: Families in this category are not required to pay a family fee.

392 NAC Chapter 1-001.29 TEMPORARY CHANGE
Guidance: The Department will not limit temporary change to 3 months to comply with federal 
regulations 45 CFR 98.51. Eligibility shall continue until the end of the eligibility period if a temporary 
change in need for services occurs. 

A temporary change is a change with an ongoing status of the child’s parent as working or attending a 
job training or educational program. Examples of temporary change include but are not limited to: 

• Time limited absences from work or training;
• Any student holiday or break for a parent participating in education;
• Sick Leave;
• Parental Leave;
• Reduction in hours;
• Other pauses in work or training; and,
• Any changes in residency within the State, Territory, or Tribal service area.



Child Care Subsidy
392 NAC Chapter 2: Elements of Eligibility

392 NAC Chapter 2-003.02 VERIFICATION
Guidance: Verification is due in 10 days from the date that the request is made to the applicant or 
recipient.

392 NAC Chapter 2-005.01 PERIODIC REDETERMINATION
Guidance: The Department will provide continuity of care to reduce disruptions in care for the 12-18 
month eligibility period. 

Guidance: An application may be received and considered valid up to 60 days prior to the end date 
of the eligibility period.

392 NAC Chapter 2-006 QUALIFICATION AS A FAMILY
Guidance: Legal guardianship is a result of a legal proceeding where the court/judge appoints 
someone to protect a child and act like a parent for the child. A notarized statement does not create 
legal guardianship. The household must provide verification of legal guardianship before child care 
can be approved for the specific child(ren).

392 NAC Chapter 2-009 RESIDENCE
Guidance: Foster Children/Children with Adoption or Guardianship Subsidy may receive Child Care 
Subsidies if they are residing in another state and their Foster/Subsidized Adoption/Subsidized 
Guardianship agreement is with the State of Nebraska.

392 NAC Chapter 2-010.01 INCOME VERIFICATION
Guidance: 30 consecutive days of income is required to determine income eligibility. If income is 
fluctuating, 90 days can be taken to determine eligibility upon request of the applicant or recipient. 

392 NAC Chapter 2-010.01(A)
Guidance: When determining eligibility, the Department considers the following sources of income:
 (1) Supplemental Security Income (SSI); 
 (2) Assistance to the Aged, Blind, or Disabled payment (AABD); 
 (3) Gross wages/salary – total monthly earnings received for work as an employee, including 

wages, salary, armed forces pay, work study, commissions, tips, piece rate payments, and 
cash bonuses earned before deductions are made for taxes, bonds, pensions, union dues, 
and similar purposes;

 (4) Work study for a graduate student or a student working for a second degree; 
 (5) In-kind income received in lieu of wages; 
 (6) Income received under a Title I Workforce Investment Act (WIA) program for On the Job 

Training (OJT); 
 (7) Retirement, Survivors, or Disabled Insurance (RSDI) benefits and Railroad Retirement 

payments before deductions for medical insurance; 
 (8) Dividends (includes dividends from stockholdings or membership in associations); 
 (9) Interest (averaged over the period earned for savings or bonds); 
 (10) Estates; 
 (11) Trust funds; 



 (12) Rentals (net income from rental of a house, store, or other property); 
 (13) Land lease income; 
 (14) Gross payments from boarders or lodgers (if self-employed, see number 28); 
 (15) Net royalties; 
 (16) Retirement pensions (retirement or pension benefits paid to a retired person or his/her 

survivors by a former employer or by a union, either directly or through an insurance 
company); 

 (17) Veteran’s pensions (money paid by the Veteran’s Administration to disabled members of the 
armed forces or to survivors of deceased veterans, subsistence allowances paid to veterans 
for education and on-the-job training, and “refunds” paid to ex-servicemen as G.I. insurance 
premiums; 

 (18) Military allotments; 
 (19) Picket or strike pay; 
 (20) Contributions; 
 (21) Lump sum payments, e.g., child support or RSDI; 
 (22) Annuities or insurance; 
 (23) Unemployment compensation (compensation received from government insurance agencies 

or private companies during periods of unemployment) and any strike benefits received from 
union funds;

 (24) Worker’s compensation (compensation received from private or public insurance companies 
for injuries incurred at work); 

 (25) Court-ordered child, spousal, and cash medical support; 
 (26) Payment by an absent parent to the client for child care, rent, or house payment; 
 (27) Net income from farm self-employment; and, 
 (28) Net income from non-farm self-employment.

Guidance: If a non-legally responsible relative is receiving ADC as a relative payee for the child 
needing child care, the ADC grant is not counted as income in determining financial eligibility. All other 
income of the relative is considered. Non-legally responsible relatives who may receive Child Care 
Subsidy include grandparents, adult brothers and sisters, stepparents, stepbrothers and stepsisters, 
uncles, aunts, first and second cousins, adult nephews and nieces. These relatives may be half 
blood, related by adoption, or from a previous generation as denoted by prefixes of grand, great, 
great-great, or great-great-great.

392 NAC Chapter 2-011 CATEGORIES OF ELIGIBILITY BASED ON INCOME
Guidance: The total amount of the sliding fee assessed will be based on 7% of the household’s gross 
income for all of their children enrolled in the subsidy program. It will not vary with the number of 
children in care, the amount of care they need, or the type of care they choose to use. The sliding fee 
must be paid each month to the provider before the provider bills the Department, it covers the first 
dollars of payment, regardless of when service begins or ends.

Guidance: If the recipient has a change in income during the eligibility period, the sliding fee can 
decrease and will remain that amount for the duration of the household’s eligibility period. The sliding 
fee may continue to decrease following a change if applicable but the sliding fee cannot increase. 
Decreases in the sliding fee shall be implemented in the month following the month in which the 
change is reported and verified.

Guidance: A recipient who has not paid the sliding fee under any eligibility for child care may be 
ineligible for other fee-paying child care until the recipient has made a satisfactory arrangement with 
the provider for payment of the earlier fee. The recipient is required only to make arrangements with 



the previous provider; s/he is not required to pay the fee in total before receiving other fee-paying 
child care. At redetermination, the Department verified that the recipient has made payments toward 
the back fee and may close the case if the back fee has not been paid.

392 NAC Chapter 2-011.01 TRANSITIONAL CHILD CARE FAMILY
Guidance: INITIAL ELIGIBILITY:
Beginning August 28th, 2021 a family’s income must not be greater than 185% of the Federal Poverty 
Level (FPL) at initial application to be eligible for child care subsidy.
 (1) 0% FPL to 100% FPL = No sliding family fee
 (2) 100% FPL to 185% FPL = Sliding family fee
 (3) Over 185% FPL = Over income, not eligible

ON-GOING ELIGIBILITY: 
 (1) Beginning August 28th, 2021, once a family is determined eligible and child care is 

authorized, if a family’s income exceeds 200% FPL during their certification period, they will 
now continue to remain eligible for TCC through the rest of their certification period as long 
as their income is under 85% of the State Median Income (SMI).

 (a) If their income exceeds 85% SMI, child care subsidy is closed and they are no 
longer eligible.



REDETERMINATION: 
 (1) Beginning August 28th, 2021, at redetermination, if a family’s income does not exceed 200% 

FPL, TCC is reauthorized for another 12 months (up to 18 if aligning with another program).
 (a) There are no time limits for TCC, therefore at each redetermination the family will 

remain eligible for TCC as long as their income does not exceed 200% FPL and all 
other eligibility factors continue to be met.

 (b) During this certification period, if the family’s income exceeds 200% FPL, but 
remains under 85% SMI, they will remain eligible through the rest of their certification 
period.

 (c) If income exceeds 85% SMI, then child care subsidy is closed and they are no 
longer eligible.

Beginning October 1st, 2023 the following FPL and SMI amounts will go into effect:

Household Size 100% Federal 
Poverty Level

185% Federal 
Povety Level

200% Federal 
Poverty Level

85% State 
Median Income

2 $1,644 $3,041 $3,287 $4,926
3 $2,072 $3,833 $4,144 $6,085
4 $2,500 $4,625 $5,000 $7,244
5 $2,929 $5,418 $5,857 $8,404
6 $3,357 $6,210 $6,714 $9,563
7 $3,785 $7,003 $7,570 $9,780
8 $4,214 $7,795 $8,427 $9,997

392 NAC Chapter 2-013 NEED FOR SERVICE
Guidance: If at the end of the three-month job search period, if the parent is engaged in a qualifying 
need for service and is meeting all other eligibility requirements assistance will continue until the next 
redetermination period.

Guidance: For families experiencing homelessness, verification of homelessness is not required 
unless questionable.

Guidance: The Department will not limit the need for service of homelessness to 3 months to comply 
with federal regulations 45 CFR 98.21. Eligibility shall continue until the end of the eligibility period 
unless this need for service ends.

392 NAC Chapter 2-013.02 VOLUNTEER PROGRAMS
Guidance: The recipient is ineligible for Child Care if they are participating in Americorp full time and 
are eligible to receive Child Care through the Americorp program. If the recipient is not eligible for 
Child Care through the Americorp Child Care program then they are eligible to receive Child Care 
through the Child Care Subsidy Program.  



392 NAC Chapter 2-013.04(A) VERIFICATION OF ENROLLMENT
Guidance: Authorizations will not begin until this verification has been received.

392 NAC Chapter 2-013.05(B) EMPLOYEE OF A CHILD CARE FACILITY
Guidance: The Department will accept the declaration that the recipient is not working in the same 
room as the child unless questionable. If questionable, the Department will request documentation to 
verify the recipient is not working in the same room as the child. 

392 NAC Chapter 2-013.06 QUALIFYING FOR CHILD CARE NEEDED FOR TRAVEL TIME
Guidance: If a recipient is an employee of a child care facility that the recipient’s children are 
attending they are not eligible for travel time.



Child Care Subsidy
392 NAC Chapter 3: Authorization and Notice

392 NAC Chapter 3-001.03(A) PROVIDER NOT ENROLLED
Guidance: Provider enrollment is defined as having completed the following:

• Central Registry Check Paperwork;
• Pediatrics First Aid/CPR Training;
• Prepare to Care Training; and,
• Fingerprinting Background Checks.

392 NAC Chapter 3-002. RESPONSIBILITY TO CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT
Guidance: Recipients have the option to voluntarily report changes on an ongoing basis. The 
Department will act on these changes in the eligibility period if these verified changes will benefit 
the recipient.

392 NAC Chapter 3-004. RATE UNIT AUTHORIZATIONS
Guidance: July 1, 2023 Child Care Subsidy Provider Rates (rates table)

2023 Child Care Subsidy Rates
Partial Rate: Up to 4 hours and 59 minutes
Daily Rate: 5 hours through 9 hours and 59 minutes
Daily Rate plus a Partial Rate: 10 hours through 18 hours

Infant Toddler Preschool School Age
Partial Rate Day Rate Partial Rate Day Rate Partial Rate Day Rate Partial Rate Day Rate

Lancaster, Dakota, Douglas, Sarpy Counties
Licensed Family Child Care Homes I and II $30.50 $35.50 $30.00 $35.00 $30.00 $35.00 $30.00 $33.00

Accredited/Step 3 $32.05 $37.30 $31.50 $36.75 $31.50 $36.75 $31.50 $34.65

Step 4 $33.65 $39.15 $33.10 $38.60 $33.10 $38.60 $33.10 $36.40

Step 5 $35.35 $41.10 $34.75 $40.55 $34.75 $40.55 $34.75 $38.25

Licensed Child Care Centers $46.75 $58.25 $41.00 $51.50 $34.50 $46.51 $36.00 $40.00

Accredited/Step 3 $49.10 $61.20 $43.05 $54.10 $36.25 $48.85 $37.80 $42.00

Step 4 $51.55 $64.25 $45.25 $56.80 $38.05 $51.30 $39.70 $44.10

Step 5 $54.15 $67.45 $47.50 $59.65 $39.95 $53.85 $41.70 $46.35

License Exempt Family Child Care Homes
Lancaster/Douglas/Sarpy/Dakota Counties $9.90 $16.50 $9.90 $16.50 $9.90 $16.50 $9.90 $16.50

All Other Counties
Licensed Family Child Care Homes I and II $25.00 $30.25 $25.00 $30.00 $25.00 $30.00 $25.00 $30.00

Accredited /Step 3 $26.25 $31.80 $26.25 $31.50 $26.25 $31.50 $26.25 $31.50

Step 4 $27.60 $33.40 $27.60 $33.10 $27.60 $33.10 $27.60 $33.10

Step 5 $28.95 $35.05 $28.95 $34.75 $28.95 $34.75 $28.95 $34.75

Licensed Child Care Centers $28.95 $36.80 $27.90 $35.00 $24.00 $34.30 $24.75 $35.75

Accredited/Step 3 $30.40 $38.65 $29.30 $36.75 $25.20 $36.05 $26.00 $37.55

Step 4 $31.95 $40.60 $30.80 $38.60 $26.50 $37.85 $27.30 $39.45

Step 5 $33.55 $42.65 $32.30 $40.55 $27.80 $39.75 $28.70 $41.40

License Exempt Family Child Care Homes $8.80 $14.90 $8.80 $14.90 $8.80 $14.90 $8.80 $14.90



All Counties
License Exempt Family In-Home Provider The basic in-home rate is $10.50 an hour. 

Transportation $5.00 per occurrence

Summer Activity Fees $50.00 per child (Toddler, Preschool, School Age; applies during June, July, August)

Accreditation 5% increase of the base rate

Step Up to Quality 5% increase of the base rate

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.01 PROVIDER RATES
Guidance: Except for foster children and children receiving guardianship or adoption subsidy, the 
provider is not allowed to charge the parent or caretaker the difference between the Department’s 
reimbursement and the provider’s private pay rate. A foster parent or subsidized adoptive parent or 
guardian may make arrangements with a provider to supplement the Department’s reimbursement. 

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.01(A)(i) PAYMENT FOR ABSENCES
Guidance: The provider will need to enter an “A” on attendance calendars to indicate that an absent 
day was billed.

Guidance: The provider may not bill absent days if the child is no longer attending that Child Care.

Guidance: Absent days must be billed as 1 day unit per occurrence up to the maximum of 5 
occurrences per month.

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.01(B) ACCREDITED RATES
Guidance: Providers who are accredited through the National Association for Education of Young 
Children (NAEYC), National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC), National Early Childhood 
Program Accreditation (NECPA), Council of Accreditation (COA), Cognia, National Lutheran School 
Accreditation (NLSA), American Montessori Society (AMS) or previously approved programs are 
eligible for subsidy accredited maximums.

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.01(C) PAYMENT EXCEPTION FOR FOSTER CHILDREN AND ADOPTION 
OR GUARDIANSHIP CHILDREN
Guidance: If the child is not attending the minimum of 30 hours per week due to visits with biological 
parents or other Child Welfare related services but the foster/guardianship/adoptive parent is 
authorized for care over 30 hours per week, the provider may still bill based on enrollment.

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.02 BILLING UNITS

Guidance: 

Partial Day: Up to 4 hours, 59 
minutes per day

Full Day: 5 – 9 hours, 59 minutes 
per day

Full Day & Partial Day: 10 – 18 
hours per day*

0 – 4 hours 59 minutes = 1 partial 
day 5 – 9 hours 59 minutes = 1 full day 10 – 18 hours = 1 full day + 1 

partial day* 
*Providers that care for a child 10 or more hours a day will be able to bill 1 full day AND 1 partial day unit.

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.03 REGISTRATION FEES
Guidance: Maximum initial and annual Registration Fee for Child Care Centers is $25. The maximum 
initial and annual Registration Fee for Family Child Care Home I & II is $15.

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.04 ACTIVITY FEES
Guidance: The maximum activity fee for licensed child care providers is $50 per month, per child, 
with a maximum of $150 per year. 

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.04(A) LIMITATIONS
Guidance: Summer months include June, July and August.



Guidance: Activity Fees should be billed as an occurrence monthly for June, July and August.

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.06 SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD CARE RATE EXCEPTIONS
Guidance: The increased payment rate will not exceed 25% of normal provider rates unless the 
Department has determined a previous higher rate due to specialized services or the provider is an 
in-home provider.

Guidance: For in-home providers only, the special needs rate will not exceed an additional 25% for 
each special needs child. 

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.06(A) FACTORS TO BE CONSIDERED
Guidance: The provider should include details for specialized services that are beyond normal care.

392 NAC Chapter 3-004.08 TRANSPORTATION TO AND FROM HOME
Guidance: License-exempt and in-home providers will not be authorized for transportation services.



Child Care Subsidy
392 NAC Chapter 4: Provider Enrollment

392 NAC Chapter 4-001 GENERAL STANDARDS
Guidance: Social Security Number or Federal Identification Number must be up to date and valid.

Guidance: The Department defines an environment that promotes the safety and well-being of the 
children in care to include the following:

• Have a sufficient number of safe, age-appropriate play materials available for the child care 
child(ren)’s use;

• Have first aid supplies available, but inaccessible to children. Supplies are to include a fever 
thermometer, soap, band aids, gauze, tape, and scissors;

• Provide and use clean and comfortable napping and sleeping arrangements for the children 
in care;

• Ensure children will always be supervised;
• Arrange with another person, age 19 or older, to substitute for the caregiver in an emergency;
• Notify parents/guardians of child(ren) in care when care will/has been provided by a substitute 

caregiver;
• Have an operable telephone available for use within the home;
• During the hours of operation, the home must be open to announced and unannounced visits 

by parents of all children for whom care is being provided. Parents must always have access 
to their children at all times their children are in care; and,

• Discuss with the parent/guardian hours of care, care for ill children (if provided), disciplinary 
practices, meals, snacks, napping schedules, and toilet training practices (if applicable) before 
care is provided.

Guidance: The Department may request Form CFS-59 to be completed by a Physician in order to 
verify the provider has the physical, mental, and emotional capacity to provide care for children. 

Guidance: If the Department becomes aware that a provider is unable to provide care for themselves 
then the Department has the discretion to close or deny the provider agreement due to the provider 
not demonstrating the physical, mental and emotional capacity to provide care for children.

392 NAC Chapter 4-002. PROVIDER ENROLLMENT STANDARDS
Guidance: Providers must submit claims electronically unless otherwise noted by the Department. 
Submitted claims will be paid within 5 business days.

Guidance: A provider should notify their Resource Development Worker if the child(ren) does not 
attend child care for more than three consecutive days when the child’s absence is not reported to the 
provider.

Guidance: Smoking includes vaping or the use of E-Cigarettes.

Guidance: Inspection of the facility may involve a full walk-through of the building where care is 
provided to allow program administration to monitor for health and safety requirements. Refusal to 
allow a full walk-through inspection may result in denial of the provider enrollment. .

392 NAC Chapter 4-002.01 PROVIDER AGE QUALIFICATIONS
Guidance: This is specific to those enrolled with DHHS as a Subsidy provider. 



392 NAC Chapter 4-002.02 SOCIAL SECURITY TAX WITHHOLDING
Guidance: Tax and 1099 questions should be directed to DHHS.TaxData@nebraska.gov.

392 NAC Chapter 4-002.03(A)(i) BACKGROUND CHECKS
Guidance: A background check will only be completed on the facility owner if they are residing in the 
state of Nebraska.

392 NAC Chapter 4-002.03(A)(ii) SPECIAL CRIMINAL HISTORY
Guidance: For assault convictions, the department will consider a misdemeanor assault conviction as 
a disqualification only if the date of conviction occurred in the past five years from the date of provider 
application.

Guidance: For assault animal cruelty convictions, the Department will consider an animal cruelty 
conviction for abuse or neglect only if the date of conviction occurred in the past five years from the 
date of the provider’s application.

Guidance: An infraction is not to be considered as a conviction.

392 NAC Chapter 4-002.04(A) WEEKLY LIMIT
Guidance: If an In-Home Provider is providing care over 40 hours per week they are eligible for Over 
Time based on the hours of care that the Child Care recipient is eligible to receive each week.

392 NAC Chapter 4-004. PROVIDER STANDARDS
Guidance: The Department interprets the control of infectious diseases to include proper 
vaccinations for household pets susceptible to rabies. 

Guidance: To ensure the provider follows the Five Rights when dispensing medication, the 
Department expects the provider will receive written instructions from the parent/guardian before 
dispensing medication.

Guidance: The Department interprets building and physical premises safety to include the following 
components: 

• Have operable utilities, i.e., electricity, heat, water;
• Firearms, furnace and water heater are kept inaccessible to children;
• Maintain the home to be free from fire hazards such as exposed wiring, storage of 

combustibles near a fire source (furnace, water heater, stove), and blocked exits;
• Develop an emergency procedure to reach children should they become locked into an area of 

the home;
• Maintain an outdoor play area free of safety hazards;
• Ensure the home has operable smoke and carbon monoxide detectors, maintained according 

to manufacturer’s recommendations, which are located on each level of the home used to 
provide care;

• Ensure a fire extinguisher is on site and not expired;
• Ensure children are not exposed to extreme temperatures;
• Ensure children are protected from streets, alleyways, parking lots and garages; and,
• Ensure children do not have unsupervised access to bodies of water.

Guidance: Providers must be trained in recognizing and immediately reporting any signs of child 
abuse or neglect, including shaken baby syndrome.

Guidance: All License Exempt providers will be provided with an Emergency Preparedness 

mailto:DHHS.TaxData@nebraska.gov


Workbook and must have it completed before signing their provider agreement. Response planning 
and accommodations for children with medical conditions should be included in these workbooks.

Guidance: Hazardous materials includes bio-contaminants. 

392 NAC Chapter 4-005. STAFF TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
Guidance: All Pre-service Orientation Training must be completed prior to enrollment as outlined in 
Form CC-9B, Child Care Provider Subsidy Enrollment.

Guidance: The pre-service orientation training outlined in this regulation is Nebraska’s Prepare 
to Care and Lincoln/Lancaster County Health Department. Providers located outside of the State 
of Nebraska can submit copies of their state’s pre-service orientation training certificate(s) and 
documentation showing the topics covered to prove equivalence.

Guidance: Pre-service orientation training must be completed prior to initial Provider Enrollment and 
when there is a break of at least 12 months in a provider’s subsidy contract.

Guidance: Staff is defined as an individual who works with children providing direct care and/or who 
may have unsupervised access to children in a licensed child care facility or license exempt home. 
This includes, but is not limited to: owners, directors, assistant directors, teachers, aides, substitutes, 
volunteers, cooks, bus drivers, or caregivers.

Guidance: Accommodations may be made for staff who fall under the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). Documentation may be requested. 

392 NAC Chapter 4-005.01 LICENSED EXEMPT AND FAMILY IN-HOME PROVIDERS TRAINING 
REQUIREMENTS
Guidance: Relatives providers as defined in 392 NAC Chapter 1-001.24 are exempt from this training 
requirement.

392 NAC Chapter 4-007.01 PROVIDER COOPERATION WITH EVALUATION FOR 
ENROLLMENTS
Guidance: Annual visits will be conducted by Resource Developers at each facility where services 
are provided.
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